My Writing Insecurity (Whatever’s On My Mind Wednesday)

I don’t consider myself a writer, I don’t feel like I have a writing style. As a blogger, I question the name of my blog, my screen name, the look I’ve chosen, my picture, if my blog content matches my “About Me” page that I use as a mission statement of sorts. I visit other blogs and admire the writing both the style and the content. Sometimes I wonder why can’t I be that witty? I love how they make light of such an annoying situation. That’s clever! I find myself questioning what I write and how I write it. Then I read what I wrote, notice that my words have been swayed. That I’ve tried to emulate the writing of better writers than me and delete it because that’s not how I write.

I realize that the more I write, the more comfortable I’ll be writing. The more my writing will develop, evolve and eventually become what I want it to be. For now I’m just starting to workout my writing muscles. I can’t expect to be like the bodybuilders that have put in years of dedication and exercise to get to where they are. So I’ll continue to admire their work, take notes on what exercises I should incorporate into my workout and look at my blog as a reflection of the workout session I’ve put in. I know that it will grow, change and get better over time. For right now, it’s not too bad for a newcomer to the blog gym.

4 thoughts on “My Writing Insecurity (Whatever’s On My Mind Wednesday)

  1. Well, one thing I can tell you – this is a very well-written post 🙂 I understand you perfectly. When I started writing in 2012 I was tight-up and overthought my words, but practice made me feel comfortable with writing. While it doesn’t guarantee that you become a great writer, it does guarantee that you become good, discover your “voice”, your style and your genre, and, most of all, you’ll feel as comfortable with writing as with any other job you’ve been doing for a number of years. I can tell you now you have an interesting, authentic style that I enjoy. Your honesty about what you go through helps readers connect and remain faithful to you, a blogger with her heart in her palm 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you Ana, I’m glad you can relate. My biggest goal is to be true to myself. Whether I become a good writer, whether this takes me anywhere or this remains an outlet for me, I just want to discover who I am and stay true to myself. Thanks for your words 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is well written! My thoughts: Sometimes being true to oneself doesn’t mean being the same way all the time. We all exist in multitudes; we are sarcastic one minute, optimistic the next. Our writing can be formal, speech-like, poetic, crass, all of these things at once. But we tend to think of “style” as something concrete and unchanging, yet expect it to represent us in some way. I think this is something a lot of writers struggle with, especially on the internet where such an (unnecessarily large) emphasis is put on branding, etc. But I can’t think of a greater expression of authenticity than writing a post like this. So kudos. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kat! I agree, I believe that we change and it doesn’t have to be as drastic as years. My biggest struggle was reading let’s say a parenting post (something I also write about) and seeing the funny, witty, interesting way the blogger presented the scenario and thinking, why can’t I do that?! I would want to mimic it in my own writing and it just didn’t feel right. It wasn’t necessarily bad, it just wasn’t me. So I wanted to put it out there because I figured I can’t be the only one that ever felt that way. Thanks again for your words, and for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it. 🙂

      Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

