Mindful Monday

Round two of Mindful Monday in the Love Is In Da Blog challenge. Last week I committed to practicing mindfulness each day in this post. I’m glad to say I’ve been diligent. I clear my mind everyday on my walk to work. No gadgets, no peeking at my phone. This isn’t mindfulness in its pure form in the sense that I am walking and it’s on a time constraint.

I like to think of it as “active” mindfulness (might have just made that up, I don’t know). While my body is active, I’m still aware of my thoughts, focusing on clearing my mind, and noting the beauty in what is around me. I get to work as the sun is rising so the colors in the sky are what catches my eye and I just let my mind get carried away in the pinks and oranges as my thoughts trail off and I am in a state of just being in the moment.

This week I want to talk about mindfulness in children. I think there are a lot of labels thrown around these days and kids are growing up in a different world than the one I knew as a child. Kids live in a world of instant results, hands on experiences, touch screen everything. As a mom I notice my daughter doesn’t have the resilience that I did as a kid trying to figure things out for myself, no hints, no apps, no Google to help. I see the frustration build up and the wheels slow down when she doesn’t get things right the first time.

Mindfulness is something that I practice with her when I know she needs a release. Even children have stress and can benefit from the practice of mindfulness. I started it a couple of years ago. We would sit outside on the lawn on a Sunday morning, just soaking up the morning sun. I’d play a guided meditation video on YouTube and we would both sit there and listen to the words as it guided us to a beautiful place in our mind’s eye. She loved it and while it took a few Sundays for her to be able to sit through the whole meditation, she always commented on how warm and happy she felt afterwards.

Mindfulness has no minimum age to practice. Of course the younger the child, the more difficult it can be to get them to sit still, but even my one year old benefits from it. Sometimes I will just sit on the couch in silence and she will observe me and settle on my lap. Of course I can’t guide her thoughts but as she lays against my chest, I feel her breathing slow to match my own, and her activeness calm for just a little while.

I encourage you to practice mindfulness with your own children. We practice mindfulness before homework to cut down on the frustration and to help her be in a more calm state of mind which allows her to be more open to direction and help. A quick YouTube search will pull up numerous guided meditation videos specifically for children. I like to listen to them first and know what she will be hearing before she undoubtedly drifts off to sleep. I have a playlist of guided meditations for her because sometimes they are too short to listen to just one. She has favorites that she goes back to and create the pictures in her mind’s eye.

Do you practice mindfulness with your children? When do you practice it? Do you find that it helps? What improvements have you seen? Do you guide them or do you use a video/recording? Do you have a favorite guided meditation for kids you’d like to share? Do you like the idea of practicing mindfulness with your kids? What point of the day do you think you will try to incorporate it? Feel free to leave your thoughts or answers to any of the questions in the comments section below. I’d love to hear what you think.

8 thoughts on “Mindful Monday

  1. I do not have children and the best husband’s in the world live with their mum but are with us several times a week. I have observed the same thing: Kids nowadays don’t seem to have the resilience to figure things out which worries me sometimes. I do not practice Mindfulness with them, but I know that the younger one does at school. What I do is just give them as much attention as I can and try to have my writing done when they are here so I can be with them fully. Of course, that doesn’t always work, and when they turn to their computers, I turn back to my dealings.

    I think what you do on your way to work is mindfulness too. You do not have to sit down and be in the moment. Mindfulness is thought to work wherever we are and whenever we want. So you are actually doing it exactly right. I use it at work. I try to let my judgments of how I work go and just concentrate on my breathing and getting on with what I am doing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah mine has no choice but to try and try again because of the mom she has 🙂 I love that the younger one practices it in school! OK I’ll take that! I practice it throughout the day more and more. Whenever I find myself getting flustered (mainly at work), I just take a breath and focus. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I think it is so easy to get caught up rushing from one thing to the next that you overlook the little things. One of the quotes I was contemplating for the quote challenge was “Enjoy the little things in life because one day you will look back and realize they were the big things”.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, said. Mindfulness is a good tool to use with children if we can remember. Sometimes I personally get wrapped up in a moment where it just gets thrown out the window. But often times if I can catch it before it goes to far (Putting off taking care of a situation because I need to finish something, or just a minute, or wait just a second 10 times. Each second counts) mindfulness comes to our aid and can help control both mother and children from spiraling out of control 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed! There are times that I can nip it in the bud and other times that it escalates too quickly and I need to use a different tool. I really enjoy making a habit out of it and often find her asking me when we are going to meditate or even find her using it when she gets frustrated.

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

