Fit Friday!

This Friday’s post is a two birds with one stone scenario. As part of the Love Is In Da Blog challenge I’m participating in, the Friday prompt is spreading a blog you love. So I decided to give you a brief update of my fitness commitment and in turn share a fitness post.

This has been quite a week for me. I had every intention of dedicating myself to starting up a fitness routine and just like that on Tuesday I started to feel under the weather. Back-pain, run down, just feeling terrible. I am proud to say that even though my 1 year old took a nap from 7-10 pm Sunday night and I wasn’t able to nurse her to sleep until 1 am, I still powered through and got up to exercise at 5:45. Beyond that, I did not get up early for the rest of the week because when I don’t feel well, I rest and drink fluids. So while I feel like I failed, I know that it wasn’t because I didn’t want to, it’s because I knew the better choice was to start once I felt better. While I didn’t do anything other than walk (5 miles so far), I did watch my food choices, so it wasn’t a total loss.

This post caught my eye because the baby is so darn cute. It’s also funny that babies have the perfect squatting position! I like this post because so many times I tend to make excuses as to why I can’t do more exercise and this post showed me that it is simply that, an excuse. I can do squats while I cook lunch, brush my teeth, change the baby, brush my daughter’s hair, it really doesn’t take much. So to heck with my excuses, I’m walking until my legs cramp on Saturday and starting my 30 day exercise commitment on Monday (again).

How did you do on your fitness goals this week? Were you consistent? Did you exercise? Are you making good food choices? Drinking plenty of water? Making the effort to burn calories where you can- stairs, parking farther, etc.? Let me know how your fitness journey went this week!

woman-jogger-jogging-sport-large1

17 thoughts on “Fit Friday!

  1. I cannot even imagine how it might be difficult to combine motherhood with healthy active lifestyle. I wish you feel better soon and get back on track.
    I’ve been good in sport, this week. Did strength training and running. Actually, just half hour ago finished my 13 K morning run. Now, sitting by computer, reading my Reader and enjoying coffee.
    Have a nice weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know, I’m honestly just drained from being on the go so much. Once we have a vehicle it will be easier because I spend an extra 3 hours a day just catching busses to get around that will be reduced to 20 minutes transit time once we have a car. I do walk a lot though!
      Oh my goodness! Good for you! That’s awesome! Enjoy your coffee 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Like you, I wasn’t as active this week as planned. I’ve been unwell too and just opted for rest instead. And lots of water, as it’s been hot here this past week. Like you said though – it’s not a failure. It’s listening to your body & doing what’s right for your health.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I missed you yesterday! Aw, I hope you are on the mend. Yes plenty of rest and water. We’ll be more active come this week 😉 I’m finally feeling better so we are going out for a nice long walk today so I hope that makes up for at least a couple of days’ worth of exercise! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very honest post! Getting into the habit of exercising is a lot harder than most people realize. I have 3 kids, so making my workout a habit was not easy for me! I’ve found that the best way to start getting healthy and fit is by making one small change at a time. Like drinking water. And when that becomes a habit, make another little change. You’r trying and that’s what’s really important. You can never fail unless you stop trying!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Fabiola, that is very true! Great advice! In reality I want the results without the sacrifice or the effort but obviously that’s not going to happen, I’ve tried it for 5 years and it hasn’t worked so far 😉 Thanks again for reading and taking a moment to comment.

      Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

