Stream of Consciousness

No pressure, first time taking part in the Saturday Stream of Consciousness prompt and I messaged Linda to see when the prompt would be posted…because of course I can’t be a normal person and just wait for the prompt to go up. But the girls were entertained, the baby was just up from a long nap, fed and in a good mood and I knew I would have a solid hour to dedicate to writing before I was needed for some mom-urgency. So here goes…

Linda’s prompt for this week’s Stream of Consciousness post is “tire”- as is, as a prefix or a suffix.

road-car-tire-large1.jpg

Words that come to mind when I hear “tire”-

Retire- um… I might be too young for that to be the first word that comes to mind. I have at least 35 years before I’m at that point. Unless one of the random invention ideas I come up with actually becomes a hit. Never mind I haven’t come up with anything that I didn’t know someone else already invented…

Tire- Are there two ways to spell this? I was taking a practice test to get my license overseas and the spelling of a tire as in car tire was “tyre”. I wonder if they need a new translator or if there really is a different spelling. It wouldn’t surprise me, Americans change a lot of things that don’t make sense. You know, measurement systems, temperature, spellings, they were already established but they weren’t right so let’s just change that.

Speaking of spelling, who came up with the way things are spelled in English anyway? All these rules (“i” before “e” except after “c” or spoiler- in random words that this rule doesn’t apply!). Thank goodness for spell check! Or not because now I rely on it so much that I don’t know when a word is spelled incorrectly unless it has a red squiggly line underneath. I should invent a pen that spell checks your writing because otherwise I need to pop out my phone as I stare at a word and wonder if I spelled it right. The more I stare at it the more incorrect it looks to me. I start to second guess myself and wonder how I got through life reading because now I don’t even know if I spelled “daughter” right. What a weird word. Daughter. I start to read it, reread it, sound it out, dissect it, try to reason, and end up looking it up just to be sure because I don’t want to look like a moron passing for a writer that can’t even spell daughter. 

Back to tire. I think of things that have tires. Cars, trucks, buses, quads, motorcycles, mopeds and bikes. Things made with tires. Big ol’ swings hanging from a rope on a sturdy ol’ tree and up-cycled Pinterest projects.

Tired- As in, I stay up so late writing then watching a show to turn off my brain that I am tired as I get up. In my defense, it turns out midnight is my best hour. I know the baby will sleep another three hours before stirring to nurse. The house is quiet, I’m alone with my thoughts that are able to flow from beginning to end uninterrupted. All of the good ideas come to me as I lay reflecting on my day’s experiences. I read through some blogs which prompt ideas for an idea I had days ago and was interrupted by one of the girls, forgot to write it down and it was gone faster than you can turn out a light. After all of that thinking and inspiration, I can’t just go to sleep so I have to have a mental cool down period and watch a mindless show that sucks me in every time and I have leave the laptop unplugged so I have no choice but to let the battery drain to keep me from watching another second of the next episode.

Obviously I need to read more or just retire for the day because I’m wrecking my brain trying to come up with other plays off of “tire” and I can’t help but finding words that rhyme with “tire”. It never fails. I know tonight in the midnight hour, I’ll have variations of “tire” flowing through my brain because all of my best material comes after the fire.

If you’d like to participate in the Saturday Stream of Consciousness, click here to see the prompt for yourself along with the rules of engagement. I am participating by way of the February Love Is In Da Blog challenge. Try it out, I’m sure you will enjoy where you mind wanders by following the simple prompt. Word to the wise, don’t write these type of posts in WordPress, you’ll likely be way too distracted by notifications to let your mind wander freely. Write it in Word, Docs, or your go to word processing platform and paste it into WordPress when your stream becomes a trickle. Hope you enjoyed this stream of randomness consciousness.

20 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness

  1. Hi Niki.
    Stream Of Consciousness writing is a good way to write journals and poetry too. The spontaneous writing can provide interesting insights or connections that you normally wouldn’t see.
    I also read somewhere that you should forget grammar and don’t worry too much about sentence structure, which would be difficult because the ‘inner editor’ always interferes.
    I enjoyed your piece. 🙂

    Writer In Transit

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Michelle, after doing this one I thought it would be a great warm up for the A-Z writing challenge in April. I actually do my best to just write things as they come. I think I do have a fee errors that I was tempted to fix but left them unless I know it was because I was typing too fast. Thanks for your kind words 🙂

      Like

  2. Excellent first SoCS post, Niki. 😀 Thanks so much for joining in!
    It’s funny, just lately I’ve noticed that my creativity takes a turn for the better once the kids are all in bed… but I’m so tired that I know I shouldn’t stay up and give in.. Seems we have something in common. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post!! Tired was the first thing that came to mind for me. Probably due to lack of sleep on my end lol.
    And yep, definitely two spellings. We say “tyre” here as in car tyre. I often think English must be a nightmare for people to learn as a second language!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kim! Hope you are feeling better 🙂 I hear ya!
      Really? I didn’t know there were two spellings. Learning English is a nightmare as a maternal language, I can’t imagine as a second language! haha I suppose it could be worse, there are languages that are much harder, it’s just that a lot of “rules” are contradicted and spellings that just don’t make sense (Wednesday, February, Arkansas). I like Spanish in the sense that everything is pronounced the way it sounds (as long as you know the difference between “s” and “c” sounds).

      Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

