The Problem Of A Creative Creature

officephoto

All of my life it has been the same story. I thrive on adventure, the excitement of starting something new, pushing boundaries and the love of self expression. I get bored easily if my mind isn’t stimulated. I am quickly tired by monotony. Lack of challenge strips my interest.
Of course life can’t always be adventure and excitement. I understand responsibility and stability have their place too. I have always struggled staying in the same job for more than a couple of years. I get so bored doing the same thing day in and day out. Always expecting the day to be all but a carbon copy of the day before. Papers to be pushed around, requests to be processed, work to be completed, just to come in the next day and do it all over again.

I’m not complaining, I’m thankful to have always had an opportunity to find good jobs. I just can’t say I’ve ever had a fulfilling job. My jobs have always been well paid, with good hours but little to no creativity or importance outside of mundane work I do for a cause that is neither meaningful or appreciated.

red-hands-woman-creative-large1.jpg

I’ve often toyed with making a living doing something that encompasses my inner desire for creativity but let’s face it, I have bills to pay just like everyone else. I can’t subject my kids to living off of a starving artist’s earnings in addition to my husband’s average wage in this devastating job market. On the one hand I think how exhilarating, liberating and fulfilling it would be; on the other hand I think how risky, scary and unstable it would be. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve ventured out and done it on my own before, but I started an in-home daycare. It was something a little more stable but it was a lot of fun and I enjoyed doing projects and spending time with the kids I cared for. Scratch that earlier statement, I have had one short-lived fulfilling job.

I would love to make money selling my crochet items that I’ve spent hours deciphering patterns, pictures and watching videos to make. Maybe I could even make a living writing children’s books or juvenile novels. I’d love to  dedicate my life to making a difference and helping others. I could get certified in Reiki and Yoga and help others live a more health conscious lifestyle and dedicate myself to doing the same.

pexels-photo-large (13)1

Obviously this is probably more than just a case of creative frustration. It is a desire to live a life that is more fulfilling. I have a feeling that I wouldn’t have much time to be bored offering Yoga classes and Reiki sessions to different people everyday, working on a children’s book or young adult novel and blogging. I guess I will have to save up and in the meantime continue to let my blog be my creative outlet so that I don’t drown in the monotony of office work.

Can you relate? Have you found the balance between working to make a living and finding your creative outlet? Have you gone a step further and make a living from your creative outlet? Do you dream of living off of it? Do you go through phases or are you always yearning for the creative release? Am I alone in my desire to do something I love, even if it means doing something different everyday and not really having a job description?

49 thoughts on “The Problem Of A Creative Creature

  1. Hey, Nikki, you are not alone in that jungle of creative mess, I have been there, done that as well. It was a huge step for me to abandon my engineering career to pursue my life’s call and passion-Music…and now writing. Has both paid off? Absolutely not, in terms of paying bills and putting food on the table, but I am contented and I believe that as I keep on doing both it will pay off some day.I must admit that it sometimes frustrating, though.Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow that is incredibly brave of you! The more I write the more I think and I’ve come to the realization that I finally know what my calling is. I’m going to come up with a plan because while I’m not materialistic, realistically you have to make money to live. I’m not looking to get rich but it would be nice to get by comfortably and what I want to do resonates with my very being and I know I won’t go without. It will require total dedication and it will be a lifestyle change which is why I think it has been a process and not just a choice I made when I turned 18. I’m scared and excited but it’s nice to hear from someone like you that has done and is doing it. I know it won’t be easy and there might be tough times but at the end of the day it will be fulfilling and that is something my life needs. I’ve done it the other way for years and figure it has to be harder than sacrificing to feed my creativity and passion. I’ll keep you updated. Wishing you the best in all aspects! 🙂

      Like

      1. That’s the Spirit my dear Nikki, nobody who has ever pursued there passion ever had it smooth,I mean this is like my 15th year as a professional musician,and believe you me, I almost wanted to throw it all away because the bills were not been paid,and the children were already in the picture. It is a scary journey no doubt,but where there is a will, there will always be a way!.. Wishing all of life’s best and tangible visible results as you pursue with intentions that life call. Always a privilege to share and care. 🙂 warm regards to everyone .

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Both of you are not alone! I just quit my job as an engineer and I’m intending to write and illustrate children’s books, sell some of my art on easy, blog- and who knows, maybe get some training along the way to be a fitness instructor! But I definitely have made this decision for the same reasons you both are discussing- to feel fulfilled. I liked being an engineer, but I’ve wanted to be an author and illustrator since before I learned to read and write…doesn’t that count for something? I don’t want to keep living life wondering if I missed out on my true calling. Thankfully my husband is supportive, and we don’t have kids in the picture yet, but I have been the main bread winner so far (and engineers gets paid pretty well) so it will definitely be an adjustment! Best of luck to you both!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Congratulations Erica on answering your calling! Yes, if it’s something you’ve wanted to do before you even knew how that’s your calling! I’m so happy your husband is so supportive, that always helps with the process. What an amazing story you’ll be able to tell your children one day- “I had a good paying traditional job but decided to pursue my dream!”

        Since this was written back in February, a few things have happened. I’ve continued to write not only blogging but I’ve gone back to journaling- I write about one thing I’m grateful for each day. I’ve gotten certified to be a life coach and now I work with women that want to find their identity, nurture their self-love, and live the life they were destined to! It’s exactly what I’m meant to be doing! It’s so fulfilling and I enjoy everything about it. Empowering women to step comfortably into who they are and share that with the world around them is an amazing thing!

        Now that you’ve set your intention and backed it up with the action of quitting your job and moving forward, you’ll see that things will start to work in your favor. What’s something that you can do to remind you of why you’ve made this change so that you can persevere on the “off” days?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Great to hear from you Niki! I hoped that you would have a great update to share 🙂 Your life coach position sounds fantastic- what an incredible way to may a positive impact on many! And I see that your life coach skills come naturally as you have already fired back with a difficult question for me 😉 And it is a very perceptive one, as it seems that I have just about as many “off” days as “on” ones. 😦 What I have been doing so far is almost transporting myself back to being a kid- when all I could think about was drawing and writing. And how exciting and fun and fulfilling I find these activities. To focus on the activities and their intrinsic value- and not on the perceived judgements that I fear people have of me.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you for commenting, I love interacting with those that take the time to not only read but drop a line to interact.

        I love it! What an excellent way to throw yourself into your work! Especially because you said that you wanted to do it even before you knew how! I’m sure that by transporting yourself you will be even more relate-able to the audience you’re writing to since it’s children! You’re a natural! I can’t wait to get one of your books for my two girls and let them know that I talked to the author on my blog! ❤ If you need beta readers I'm sure my 8 year old will be delighted! 🙂

        Continue to remind yourself of why you do this, maybe even keep a picture of you as a kid close by where you can see it so on your off days you can look at it and smile and remember just by seeing it that you were meant to do this!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I enjoy interacting too.:) I think it enables greater impact for both writers and readers alike! Thank you so much for the encouragement- it is needed! And I will definitely remember to send you an update when my first draft is ready for beta readers! I would love you and your daughter’s input! And thanks for the picture recommendation! I will do that! Take care! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Niki, I can so relate to this. I’ve always loved writing but it was always pushed to the back and I spent years in various admin/marketing jobs, not really fulfilled but going through the motions. It paid the bills, kept me in stable employment but I was never really satisfied. My last marketing job was with our local tourism association where I was finally able to use my creative skills. The last two years I’ve had some casual work but not really found my ‘thing’. Countless interviews and near job offers and still nothing. Then a friend said to me “maybe you’re not meant to get back into admin”. And that’s when the writing started in earnest. The magazine articles, my connections with editors which picked up because I was more focused and I finally felt as though I was finding myself. It’s not always reliable, the income is not steady but it’s satisfying. I’m still working to find my way but I feel like I’m on the right path. Good luck with finding your balance.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I always tell my mom that 18 is too young to figure out who you are much less what you want in life. I didn’t want to go to college and commit to a career that I would later want to change. If there is anything I knew about myself it’s that I love change and a lifelong career in one area wasn’t for me. I’m glad that you can relate and that you have already started the process. I hope things come together just as they should both to fulfill you and meet your financial needs. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I know exactly what you mean and I actually quit my job recently because of it. Of course, my situation is different, I don’t have any kids, that’s why I thought, if there’s a time to take risks…now’s the time. I’ve been working at this last job for 2 years and a half and every year I would come up with new and innovative projects to challenge myself and make things interesting and while I was allowed to do that, nobody took them seriously, it felt like they took all my hard work and passion and just smashed them to the ground. So I decided I’m gonna follow my dreams and continue to be passionate about my work in an environment that I love and that nurtures me. I’m still figuring things out, I’ve got interviews and different plans to sort out, but I am so relieved! Life is different when you love it! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Good for you! I’m so happy that you are taking charge and doing something about it. I can’t use my kids as an excuse but I can come up with a plan to where I can make money off of my dream so I can at least get paid to do what I love. Life is too short to live it anything other than happy. I just want one of these people that had my life figured out at 18 and went to school for what I wanted or got a job doing what I loved. It has taken me over 10 years to get to that point… Better late than never! I wish you all the best Ioana!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like you and I have the same mission. I am lucky enough to have a fulfilling job that pays well, but am looking for that MORE for my life as a whole. I just started the journey to find it. I look forward to following along in your journey – maybe you’ll find a direction I have never thought to try…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am always searching for the balance….I write children’s books, a blog, I teach dance classes and I play around with drawing…but none of it really pays much if anything. I would LOVE to earn a living teaching dance or writing full time, heck even part time…
    Even though I am a stay-at-home mom, I homeschool my kids, and there is always something to do…again, nothing that pays me…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I homeschooled my daughter for a year before we moved overseas. I opened an in-home daycare during that time as well and that was the closest to a rewarding job I’ve had. I’m surprised teaching dance class doesn’t pay well. I hope that you are able to find a rewarding balance both personally and financially.

      Like

      1. Thanks for your kindness! It only pays about 10$ per hour, and I only teach 3 classes. It is a small hometown studio, I grew up at… I do have a very rewarding life, but finding that balance between art/peace and real life gets tricky!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Would you be able to do something on the side? Maybe say get a group of 10 kids together and have a dance class a couple of times a week as a way to get fitness in or something? Maybe instead of an hourly rate do a monthly rate? 10 kids at $30/month= $300 a month. Maybe that isn’t something that would work or that you’ve already tried. It’s not much but you have to start somewhere right? 🙂 I’m sure being able to be home with your kids is very rewarding 🙂

        Like

      3. Do you have a garage, backyard, or another large open space at home? If you start with neighborhood friends or people you know that live close you could do it from home and then move to some place bigger in the future if you were to run out of space. In the warmer months, you could look into a park or someplace outdoor with open areas that you could take your phone and some wireless speakers and do it outside.

        Like

      4. Maybe you could give it another go in the garage until the weather warms up and then do it at the park. The park is also good because you get exposure so you could go with card in hand and have it ready to give to parents that are interested or let their kids jump in for one free class or $5 to drop in. Just tossing ideas out there 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  6. You are helping the world. You are sacrificing what you want to do, to what you have/need to do for the future, your children. Be proud of the mondane, someone appreciates it, someone needs it. Just my 2 pennies

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know I don’t think of it that way. Pushing papers around and office work, nothing of meaning. I want to help people, make their lives better, do something meaningful. I’ll continue to do it until I have the financial means to walk away and start my next venture on my own 🙂

      Like

      1. I hear ya, when I wrote it I was like am I coming across wrong? I had that mentality for a while and ultimately decided nope, I’m not contributing towards anything I can be proud of when I grow old. I appreciate you giving your take 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a wonderful read and one that I can relate to as well. I am new to blogging but decided to do so to add a little something to my life. It’s not that I am a great photographer or poet and not the best writer in the world either but since an accident that left me paralyzed from the waist down, some of the energy I would burn off easily now takes more time. I took that step to do what I felt makes a difference. I went from working a corporate job (and one I could still have done easily with my wheels for legs lol) and took the step to doing landscaping. I love what I do now. It may take me longer to move stones and rocks and shrubs and I crawl around on the ground like a toddler at times but I am outside..enjoying the wondrous beauty of nature and loving life! And as an added bonus to starting the blog, I am being gifted with great reads, kind people and new friends! Have an awesome evening and simply trust in the fact that everything will happen in that time it’s meant to! 🙂 (I really hope this made sense!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good for you! Isn’t it wonderful to work with your hands and be outside? 🙂 I’m glad that you have already started making the changes to live life in a more fulfilling way. Yes, it makes perfect sense, and I feel the same way! I’m glad you can relate. Wishing you all the best! Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I can completely relate to this! I’ve been working on finding that balance for the past couple years now and I think I’m finally getting there. My day job is mind-numbing and honestly not rewarding at all…but it pays the bills, introduced me to my boyfriend and some other great people too! But it’s not enough. I’m working on opening my own Etsy store right now (hopefully in the next couple months) selling my work. I don’t know if it will ever be full-time, but I do believe that either way it will help me find more of that creative balance in life!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sara, good for you! There is a time and place for everything. I think we just reach the point that we realize that we can’t be satisfied with mind-numbing work. I have been paid very well over the years but found zero satisfaction with what I did. I would go from job to job after two to three years when I would burn out and it has taken me 12 years to realize it’s not the company, it’s what I’m doing. So off I go on my quest again. I think the Etsy store is a great start. Make sure to drop a link when you have it up and running 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

