Always something to be grateful for

This week I am grateful for two things- peace and happiness. I’m thankful for the state of inner peace that I have. It’s so much easier to go through the day and enjoy life without stress, worry or anxiety. Does that mean my life is perfect? Absolutely not. I have bad days, there are people that irritate the daylights out of me, and I have stressors. They just don’t bother me the way they used to because I have found a state of peace that I didn’t have before. I start every morning off preparing my mind for the day ahead. I don’t plan out my day and convince myself that there won’t be any struggles. I prepare my mind for the day ahead to accept and learn from challenges and get myself in the best state of mind to better equip me to handle whatever lies ahead.

With this state of mind, I have been able to find happiness. Not moments of feeling happy but a state of being happy. I have a smile on my face and warmth in my heart. I don’t need things to go my way, to have certain things, or circumstances to line up just right to have a moment of happiness. I’m happy just because. Again, this is not because I’ve found a glitch in the matrix that alters my reality and makes me think all is well in my life. It’s because I chose to be this way. I understand that things will come up, there will be days that seem like everything that can go wrong will, finances aren’t always what I’d like them to be, my husband and I might not agree on everything, my kids might make me want to make bedtime an hour earlier, but when all is said and done, I still have more reasons to be happy than not.

lawn-meadow-close-up-view-animals-large.jpg

I don’t want you to read this and think, “yeah it’s easy for her, she’s got all of her ducks in a row”. That couldn’t be farther from the truth. Yes, I’m working on lining my ducks up, but they aren’t there yet. I just know that if I’m not happy while I’m lining them up, will I really be happy once they are? If I’m not enjoying the process, how can I look back on it with satisfaction? So for me, it’s a matter of changing my focus and how I think. Instead of focusing on all that’s wrong, all that could be fixed, all that I don’t have, I focus on the opposite. Then I realize I have more to be thankful for than I let myself see. For some reason it’s easy to see all that’s wrong, it takes effort to see all that’s right.

Have you found your inner peace? Are you working on it? Do you have peace at times or are you peaceful within? Are you willing to shift your focus? Try to find the good in every situation. What are your thoughts on this Soulful Sunday post?

7 thoughts on “Always something to be grateful for

  1. Happy Sunday to you, I agree focus is everything, I mentioned this in a post of mine this week, when we focus on what we want, we spend less time thinking about what we don’t want……………..be happy and have a great day

    Brooke

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Still trying to find that inner peace, to be more accepting of the journey no matter the bumps. I think finding community with others through my yoga practice, Crossfit, and running has helped but I am still working on it every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I so agree with this. We can’t(always / entirely ) influence what happens to us but it’s totally up to us how we react. I’m so glad you shared this showing it is possible no matter what! Hope your attitude will spread 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi there! I love this post. It reminds me that we are all very human. And it sometimes comes down to how we are thinking about the circumstance and how we choose to (or not to) respond to it in a stressed out way. I like the line about recognizing there will be challenges and to accept and remind yourself to set your mindset into that each morning. It is something applicable to us all–whether in our parenting roles or workplace roles. We all have many roles we fill to others and it can get so overwhelming at times. This was a wonderful way to look at things and a reminder to do this daily mindset exercise. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

