#MomLife Monday- Baby Sign Language

The irony isn’t lost on me that last week I posted on temper tantrums and this week I’m posting on something that helps minimize them. When I was pregnant with my oldest I ran across an article about teaching babies sign language. It was an interesting concept that I looked into and decided to try.

When I had my in-home daycare for a year, I taught all of the kids signs whether they could talk or not that way they could all understand each other. I’ve taught my youngest baby signs as well and as long as she’s not so tired she can fall asleep standing up, it usually eliminates her having a tantrum because I can understand what she wants.

I start off teaching signs that revolve around food because I’ve found that babies find the direct correlation between the sign itself and the meaning. I started signing with them between 4-6 months just for them to be exposed to the signs (just because they can’t sign back doesn’t mean they can’t understand). That’d be like not speaking to a baby until they are ready to talk.

Good words to start with:

  • more
  • milk
  • please
  • thank you

There are tons of online references for baby signs. This was one of the first websites I came across that I really liked. It has a drawing showing how to do the sign as well as a video. If you are interested in signing this page is very resourceful.

Both of my girls started signing around 8 months. There’s nothing cuter than a little bitty person communicating with their chunky little fingers and you actually understanding exactly what they want!

Screenshot 2016-03-27 at 7.45.52 PM.jpg                               Screenshot 2016-03-27 at 7.46.10 PM

Sorry for the photo quality, thought I had pictures of signing but I only have videos. So I paused the video and took a screen shot!
IMG_20160325_092306.jpg
Just because my little signer is too cute not to share!

Did you sign with your baby? Did you find it helpful? What signs did you start off with? What was the first word your little one signed?

 

17 thoughts on “#MomLife Monday- Baby Sign Language

  1. I am not a mom yet but I thought your article was really great( I have never heard of sign language used to communicate with a baby till now and that sounds pretty unique and effective) and your little one is so cute ❤ And it is so awesome you have two girls 🙂 I guess you would be having lots of fun dressing them up and organising princess themed parties etc . 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. When I first heard about it I remember thinking what a great idea it was and the benefits started running through my mind immediately. The more I read about it the easier it was to decide to try it. It’s a lot of fun and amazing to see that such a little person can understand and learn so much!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. My daughter is now 16 and her first signed word was “more.” She learned please, thank you, food and down as her first signs. Ironically, she was diagnosed with a mid-range bilateral hearing loss when she was 4 moderate to severe that was never on our radar. She now is taking sign language as her foreign language for high school.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. More was both of my girls’ first word as well! More milk hahaha. Wow, that’s amazing! I love that her high school offers sign language as a foreign language. I’ve always wanted to learn more than just the basic 100 or so signs that I know. Maybe I’ll take up a class… Thanks for sharing your story!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great strategy. It helps
    Lessen the kiddos frustration from not having the words to tell you what they want. Using their hands is more efficient since usually their skills using hands is advanced compared to language. Using sign while saying the word out loud helps them learn the word (kids are sponges and will repeat what they hear) while lessening the frustration in the moment. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s amazing how much they can learn. They are only limited by what you don’t teach them (in my humble non-professional opinion). My daughter knows her signs, English and Spanish. It just amazes me! I think signs helped both of them to learn to speak better, I can’t prove it, I just think so. They learned words that had signs attached to them more quickly and their vocabulary was impressive (to me) for their age. I don’t like to compare kids because they all develop differently and while mine may have talked better for their age maybe they didn’t walk as quickly for example. This is just something that fascinates me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It is such a great idea to use sign language with your kids. It will reduce much of the frustration. Your little doll is so cute. Very soon they will start talking, and then you will struggle to have some quiet time 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! She’s a feisty sweetie pie 🙂

      Oh trust me, I learned that lesson with my oldest (she’s 7 now). I wanted her to crawl, walk and talk as early as possible…she started walking at 9 months and talking around 16 months… this time I’m in no rush! This munchkin just started walking around 13 and a half months and her babbling and signing is plenty! Once they start, they don’t stop and they have the rest of their lives to do all of that. I’m totally enjoying the baby phase and I appreciate it in a way I didn’t with my oldest because I was always in a rush for her to meet the next milestone. I’m in a different phase in my life so it’s only appropriate that I cherish the phase that she’s in 🙂

      Like

  5. This is a great tip for moms. We are teaching my baby sign language now. We started with “more”. She is able to combine signs like “more please”. She is getting very good at it, and it is so much easier to communicate with her now. It hasn’t solved all our temper issues lol but it sure has helped!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

