Travel Thursday- Local Edition

Over the Easter weekend, we rented a car and decided to make the most of the long weekend. Catching buses to take over an hour to get 10 minutes away just wasn’t going to work.

It wasn’t anything fancy but it got us from point A to point B and boy did we have fun along the way! Here’s some pictures to show you what a great time we had on our family adventures. I can’t wait until we get a car so we can move around and explore at our leisure 🙂

Excuse the photo quality, I usually edit but I’ve been swamped with post prep and touching up my blog in anticipation of the A-Z Challenge so no juice left in me to tweak the pictures…

IMG_20160324_164539.jpg
Driving down the mountain to the beach.
IMG_20160324_164646.jpg
Banana season!
IMG_20160324_171102.jpg
Not a beach you want to swim at… those lava rocks will cut you to shreds!
IMG_20160324_172244.jpg
I love the little zen like garden by the beach.
IMG_20160324_173339.jpg
Watching the waves and looking for little fish.
IMG_20160324_173406
I love the reflection of the sun in the little natural pool.
IMG_20160324_174601
Sometimes you just need a cuddle from your big sis!
IMG_20160324_182618
Family us-ie!
IMG_20160324_182853
The end of day one’s adventure.
IMG_20160326_152642 (1)
One of the most impressive tunnels I’ve ridden through! Went straight through the huge mountain. We tried to hold our breath through it but it took almost 3 minutes to drive through…
IMG_20160326_153544
One of the last glimpses of this “winter’s” snow capped volcano. Hardly lasted a month.
IMG_20160326_154610 (1)
I can’t get over the variety. Desert, rock, forest, and tropical areas on the same tiny island.
IMG_20160326_160657.jpg
This was terrifying! So glad I pushed through my fear of heights even though I ended up with cramps in my legs from breaking (on the passenger’s side) and my hands were sweating profusely. The view was worth the suffering.
IMG_20160326_165842.jpg
Big sis takes such good care of her baby sister, gently putting her on the swing and helping her hold on tight!
IMG-20160326-WA00371.jpg
I’ll leave you with one of my all time favorite shots of these two spunky girls!

 

Have you had a staycation? Do you try to enjoy the local adventures? Do you pack up and just see where the road takes you?

This post goes to show that you don’t always have to go far or spend much to travel. Make sure to check out the local treasures in your own backyard! Happy trails!

17 thoughts on “Travel Thursday- Local Edition

    1. Why thank you! I’d love to do that on the side. I’m making yet more changes in my life, details soon to follow but that would be something I’d love to do as a hobby. I get a lot of pleasure out of taking pictures, even when they aren’t very good 🙂

      Like

  1. Nice shots! I really like number 3 & 4 (nicely framed!) 🙂
    And the last pic, aww… they’re so cute!
    Indeed you don’t need to go far to have a good time, we went visiting a city only 2-hours by train from where we are and we had a great time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Those were two of my favorites as well! I love the personality that was captured, photo credit for that one goes to my hubby 🙂
      We are looking forward to going to France or Germany by train in the next couple of years 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

