A-Z Challenge Post: B- Bitterness

Day 2 of the A-Z Challenge posts, this emotion starts with the letter B.

Bitterness.jpg

This post is part of the A-Z challenge. For details on the challenge, click here.

Core post summing up what the challenge is about, why I signed up, and what my theme is.

Challenge Posts- you can find all of the posts here.

I know I’m no poet, but part of what I wanted to do with this challenge is stretch my writing muscles. There are hundreds of bloggers participating so I didn’t want every post to be 500+ words in an attempt to not get lost in the crowd of posts. This post wrote itself and honestly I was pleased to see how it came together. What are your thoughts? Do you like it? Does the combination of the words on the image work? Should I have put the words in the post or are they enhanced by the image in the background? I’m anxious to know what you think of my first self-published attempt at poetry!

The Richness of a Simple Life- N° 486

30 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge Post: B- Bitterness

  1. The link doesn’t take me to your poetry Niki. Can you provide direct links to the letter of the day please? Sometimes I respond to posts on phone instead of lap top and phone makes it all extra difficult- for me😀

    Like

      1. I somehow lost or erased my comment about B for Bitterness Niki – you’ve expressed it very well in your poem so that we also feel your bitterness. Of course I will let that feeling go – it rightfully belongs to you. Of course one has to ask, how long am I going to cling to this bitterness which is so much part of me – (not me personally; in a broader sense) …its polarity is ‘sweet’ – somethings are bitter–sweet as we know only too well. You are brave to name it and you did it well .. 🙂 thank you

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great first attempt at poetry, Niki. You’ve captured what bitterness does not only to the person experiencing it but also to those around them. Oddly enough, the person it’s directed at is probably the only one who isn’t impacted! The image matches the theme so well & I like that you’ve incorporated the words into it. Great job 👏🏼😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww thanks Kim!! Right! After I wrote it and read it several times it reminded me of the quote about drinking poison and expecting the other person to die… A lot of time the other person might not even be aware… Thank you, it took me so long to decide on a photo and then whether or not to put the words over it but in the end I was happy with it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve just noticed the link you’ve included to all your challenge posts. Such a great idea, Niki! I hope you won’t mind but I’d like to do the same thing. It keeps it all so neat 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, my friend. Exactly what I was thinking! I’ve found myself struggling to remember which posts I’ve read & from which people. And with different time zones, it’s easy to miss some.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m all about the interaction! If you’d like to stop by my meet and greet while you’re here and meet other bloggers it’s going on all weekend. If you like you could also check out my kindness challenge that I am hosting in May a couple of weeks after the A-Z challenge ends. You’ll find more great bloggers in my community there 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Cool! We are both doing feelings/emotions… wonder if we will hit on the same ones or all different! Ok, time to start a betting pool on how many letters we’ll pick the same one!! (scrabble scrabble, x scrabble)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll have to check out your days 1 and 2 to see what you’ve written about so far! Maybe we’ll make a separate pool for the perspective, even if we write about the same emotion from what angle? Experience? So interesting! Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. When I was a much younger rabbit, I believed that poetry had to rhyme or else it wasn’t poetry!
    Nursery rhymes started it; then in high school, studying Shakespeare’s sonnets!
    It was my Grade Ten English teacher (also for Grade 11) that explained that rhyme was one aspect of many. Tennyson, Yeates, Frost …
    Poetry is expression.
    Poetry is art.
    And a poet has the talent to convey and share expression artistically with vivid imagery using the fewest words.
    You are a poet, Dearie 🌹
    Don’t worry about rhyme (it’s overrated.). 🍀🐰
    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

