A-Z Challenge Post: Encyclopedia Entry of an Emotion

Day 5 of the A-Z Challenge brings us to letter E. The following is written in an encyclopedia entry writing style following my theme of emotions.

Envy originating from the Latin word invidia [1] [2] meaning to look upon with ill will. One can be envious of possessions, stature, success, or the lifestyle of another among other things. Tim Fargo says, “Don’t envy what other people have, emulate what they did to have it“. [3] When looking at the success of another through the telescope of envy, you only see the picture of what is before you at that moment. You won’t see the clear picture of what it took to get them to that point in time. Your view is so narrow and so close that you don’t see the planning, effort,  failure, time, or sacrifices required to achieve the success. Envy is an illusion that tricks your logical mind and clouds  your judgement. It leads you to believe that someone had better luck than you. You were somehow cheated in the card you drew in life. The next time you find yourself envying someone’s achievement, success, material possessions, lifestyle, or current chapter in life, think about what it took for them to get there. What do they do differently than you? What can you learn from them to achieve similar results in your own life? What did they have to sacrifice to get it? What do they continue to sacrifice to keep it? What are you willing to give to achieve? Don’t reduce all of their hard work behind the scenes to something that happened by chance. Don’t talk yourself down convincing yourself that you can’t attain the success you desire because it’s that very thought that is keeping you from reaching it. Instead clearly define what achievements are important to you, whether they be material possessions or lifestyle choices. Come up with a clear plan that will help you reach it. Don’t make excuses. Don’t be afraid to fail. You might not get it right the first time, or the first 100 times. The difference between those that attain it and those that don’t is their failures are lessons not detriments.

pexels-photo-42148-large.jpg

above-adventure-aerial-air-large1.jpg

delicate-arch-night-stars-landscape-large1.jpg

References

  1. Envy. Wikipedia. March 30, 2016.
  2. Etymology of the Latin word invidia. 2008. My Etemology. March 30, 2016.
  3. Fargo, Tim. Quotable Quotes, Goodreads. March 30, 2016.

I know this isn’t technically an encyclopedia entry, just inspired by the format. It did make me realize it’s been a while since I’ve had to cite my references! Took me back a good 10 years. What are your thoughts on this piece or topic? Does this resonate with you on either end of the spectrum? Have you ever been frustrated by other’s perception of your achievements? Does seeing the success of others motivate you? Curious to hear what you think about this topic. Thanks for reading!

photo-1444703686981-a3abbc4d4fe3-large1.jpg

This post is part of the A-Z challenge. For details on the challenge, click here.

Core post summing up what the challenge is about, why I signed up, and what my theme is.

Challenge Posts- you can find all of the posts here.

I tried to write this in an encyclopedia entry inspired writing style. All statements and definitions are my own.

The Richness of a Simple Life- N° 485 

20 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge Post: Encyclopedia Entry of an Emotion

  1. I think it is easy to forget that people don’t just get to a place where you want to be out of luck. Envy is a wasted emotion and should rather be used to look inwards to find out how you can create some of that kind of success you see in others for yourself – check out my A-Z challenge @Daisy from
    Daisyinthe willows

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love Thomas Edison’s quote! That’s brilliant!

    I used to envy, and sometimes I still do, especially when it comes to money and material possessions. I’ve always wanted the big beautiful mansion with the huge pool and acres of land. I envy those that have that. But over the years I’ve come to accept that what I have, my little 1600 square foot home, is quite beautiful too and I don’t need that big mansion to be happy.
    The older I get, the less I envy.

    Great post Nikki. Glad I stopped by.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think it’s easy to get caught up in the appeal of the material things. What w don’t realize is the sacrifice that’s gone into attaining it and the sacrifice made to maintain it. While those things are lovely, you’ve hit the nail on the head…it won’t bring happiness. There is no path to happiness, happiness is the path 🙂

      Like

    1. Yes! I love that point you bring up about celebrating their success! Reminds me of a few quotes I ran across about blowing out someone else’s light won’t make yours shine any brighter… so why not be genuinely happy for someone else? It’s not taking away from your accomplishments. Thanks for sharing Amy 🙂 Aww, I appreciate you reading!

      Like

  3. Powerful stuff Niki. All of us have trade offs for the things we’re going after. Be grateful for the strength given to be where we are now. Comparison is the enemy of contentment! We have to deal ruthlessly with envy!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

