A-Z Challenge: G

This post is part of the A-Z Challenge posts. My theme is emotions, this post is where the letter “G” took my mind.

I apologize in advance for the quantity of pictures, narrowing it down was tough. Just know that for every photo I added to this post, there were 20 that didn’t make the cut 😉

When I think of children I think of their good-nature. They aren’t born knowing to discriminate, be cruel, unkind, unloving or even hate. Those are learned behaviors that they are exposed to. As much as we often feel we can teach children, there’s a lot to be said of what we can learn from them. By watching and observing them, it can take us back to a time before life experience contaminated us and we were formed by the beliefs and values of those around us. So in the spirit of remembering our childlike good-nature, I wanted to post about a recent event that took me to visit my inner child.

IMG_20160403_192828
My view from the bench.

On Sunday we went for a family stroll along the boardwalk. I love to watch the waves and the surfers that dedicate their day to trying to catch the perfect one. I sat on a bench and watched the waves come and go and played with the girls at the park. As we continued on our walk, IMG_20160403_195559we came across a man that had a bucket filled with water and soap and was making bubbles in shapes and sizes I didn’t know existed! There was a small crowd gathered around. People would stop, children ran, and no one could resist the urge to pop the bubbles that the breeze blew their way. As people moved on, more would come and take their place in the crowd and as I looked around there were people of all nationalities, that spoke various different languages, and didn’t know each other gathered around laughing and smiling.

IMG_20160403_195338

IMG_20160403_195811
Look at the size of that! Of course my daughter couldn’t wait to pop it! :/

It was so amazing to me that something so simple brought so much joy. Kids of all ages ran around squealing with excitement chasing bubbles. Adults jumped into the air to pop bubbles that the wind carried high above the children’s reach. The gentle breeze carried the contagious laughter far away bringing smiles to the faces of those approaching the crowd that would soon join the fun of indulging in popping some bubbles whether in passing or stopping to relish the moment. One thing that I did notice was that the kids just wanted to pop the bubbles while the adults wanted to see how big they could get. Even I found myself wanting the children to wait a moment before popping them because it was so fascinating to see how large he could make them!

IMG_20160403_200225

After taking well over 100 photos and making sure to drop plenty of change in his basket, I spoke with the bubble maker for a few moments. His name is Antony and I can only assume from his accent that he’s Italian. He told me that he is soon leaving the island to spread the joy of bubbles to mainland Spain. He is currently living in a small structure on a hilltop. He said that he gets by but that he’s happy. The funny thing I noticed was that he had a smile on his face the whole time! Not just today, I see him often on the boardwalk in different areas around the island and each time, I wonder who is having more fun? Him or the kids? In the end, I think he’s found a way to bring out the childlike good-nature in all of us that pass. It’s pretty hard to walk by and not let a smile creep on your face, between the bubbles and the laughter from the kids you can’t help but perk up your mood.

IMG_20160403_200439
Antony helping my curly girl dip the sticks and rope in the bubble juice.
IMG_20160403_200442
My curly girl learning the tricks of the trade from a master bubble maker.
IMG_20160403_200956
Getting the hang of this!
IMG_20160403_200858
Making bubbles bigger than her!
IMG_20160403_200324
Bubbles on the beach side at sunset, does it get any better than this?!

IMG_20160403_200222

IMG_20160403_200620

Thank you Antony for spreading happiness in this unique way!

This post is part of the A-Z challenge. For details on the challenge, click here.

Core post summing up what the challenge is about, why I signed up, and what my theme is.

Challenge Posts- you can find all of the posts here.

The Richness of a Simple Life- N° 466

37 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge: G

  1. What a fantastic day! I love to see people who are genuinely happy and live to spread that joy. Share a little with the world. The pictures were great: I could feel the enthusiasm through them. Your daughter is beautiful! She really looked like she was proud of her accomplishment and having fun.

    A child’s good nature: hard to beat something like that!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Michele, it was such a great day with some unexpected fun! It was very refreshing to see someone smile the way Antony did. Thank you! She was very proud and has plans to make her own giant bubble maker to play with her neighborhood friends 🙂

      Like

  2. What great pictures! It’s great to see you guys taking pleasure in the “small” things in life. I can only imagine the fun curly girl had participating and learning – that is so her ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The pictures turned out better than I expected, between the angle they were at in relation to the sun, all of the movement, and not being sure how well the bubbles would photograph…not bad for my little camera on my phone 🙂

      Like

  3. Beautiful scene and time, and who said that the best things in life are’nt free !! A simple bubble is bringing so much happiness (well maybe not so simple,I’m sure it’s harder than it looks…) lovely post

    Have a good week end

    Brooke

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, it might not be as easy as it looks. There was definitely sure technique going on to get them as big as he did. But yes, very beautiful that something as simple as bubbles brought so much laughter and joy 🙂

      Like

  4. I totally agree that we can learn so much from children. Their innocence and amazement at things we take for granted, and the way they interact with the world, dancing, laughing and not caring who is watching
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great pictures! Bubbles are always fun and your daughter looks like she is having a great time. I love going to the beach, there are always people sharing their unique talents from painters to musicians.Thanks for sharing this post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lindsay! That’s true, there’s so much going on at the beach. The surfers with their carefree live and let live is so inspiring to me. The few surfers that I know inspire me. They have flexible jobs so that they can earn a living but break free whenever the weather conditions are right and the waves are plentiful so they can break free and head to the beach. It’s a lifestyle and I love that! Thank you so much for reading 🙂

      Like

      1. We know a few people who surf too – mostly freelancers in the advertising industry. Their carefree personalities are so inspirational. The beach always makes me feel calm, I love watching the waves.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Me too! I could watch the waves for hours! I love watching the surfers as well. I get so excited for them when they are finally able to catch a wave. That takes patience because they can wait for quite some time before a good wave comes!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Another thing we have in common. 🙂 My son is fascinated by the kite surfers, my parents often take him to see them at a beach near where they live. They kite surf for hours and they always greet when they see him. He loves it. I won’t be surprized if my son turns into an adrenaline junkie. Haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. We see them as well although less often than surfers. There’s a specific area of the island that kite surfers go because the weather is perfect for it. We do see one or two every now and then. I’m terrified of heights so that is really hard for me to watch, makes my hands sweat just thinking about it!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I can’t do any of those things. It takes a special type of person. I have a fear of open water so you won’t see me anywhere near it. I like to watch from a distance. Shark cage diving is big here, but there is no way anyone will convince me to do that!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I’m in love with the idea of living that type of lifestyle. I don’t know if surfing is in the cards for me or if I will live that lifestyle and just watch surfing… 😉

        Oh. my. gosh. No way!!! I can’t understand that. There’s no way I’m tempting nature in that way! I have a hard time with the bigger fish that swim through my legs when I’m in waist height water…there’s just no way I’d consider doing that. I’ve seen a couple of videos and even those are hard to watch! No thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

