Grateful Sunday- Self Reflection

As I look back on this week I’m thankful for the perspective and realizations that I’ve seen thanks to some good ol self evaluation and self reflection.

As you may or may not know, I’m enrolled in a Life Coaching program as I’m taking a step in committing myself to doing something that fulfills me for a living. Yesterday I used one of the Life Coaching tools on myself and it was a powerful experience. It hurt a little because of course my ego doesn’t want to put any fault or blame on myself but it was necessary and healthy. I’m glad that I did it and I can already feel the lightness and liberation after assessing the areas of my life that I did and putting things into focus. I accepted my faults, responsibilities and came up with a plan of action to improve those areas. I also shared my assessment with my husband and presented him with what I needed from him in order to execute part of my action plan. I’m feeling a lot better about things that I’ve been tense, stressed or just feeling bad about for a while and it only took a few moments of reflection to put things into perspective.

sunset-field-poppy-sun-priroda-large

What are you grateful for this week? Have you taken a moment to evaluate your week and single out the good things? Do you do this regularly? Do you focus on the good things enough? Feel free to share your thoughts!


Have you checked out the Kindness ChallengeΒ I’m hosing in May? If not take a peek, and sign up if you feel inclined to join us in the effort to focus on the kindness around you!

35 thoughts on “Grateful Sunday- Self Reflection

  1. I’m grateful for my friends this week. I’ve had a busy week with a few good friends: brunch on Tuesday, a dinner Wednesday and yesterday I spent 13 hours in the company of another friend! Daily texts with another close friend! Plus … All the wonderful people in the blogosphere, like yourself. It’s weeks like this that I realise how lucky I am to count so many amazing people as my friends πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

      1. I’m glad to have you around, Niki πŸ™‚
        And can I say, what an amazing Meet & Greet this weekend! Incredible responses and so many fantastic bloggers. That was seriously enjoyable! Thank you xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I know this is off topic but finding this on my reader had me thinking of Lancelot attacking the castle in the Holy Grail movie…two guards watching him far away for ages and suddenly he is just upon them…. I have an urge to say the very words here “aha”

    Don’t even think of asking where that came from either…I have no idea…

    Your post. Brilliant to see you have embraced life coaching and that you are finding reflecting inwards helpful to your own state of well being. I recently completed a mindfulness course run by two lecturers in Australia. I found that very eye opening too. Still a way to go on my own travels there though. This blogging was a start…out of comfort zone type of thing….and putting my writing up for total strangers to see… But it turned out to be quite liberating so…

    Like Kim above this weekend I am grateful to have met, not only her, but also you and to have shared my words with your words and trust there will be many more to come.

    But a question…(yes another) everywhere I go I see challenges…under here another one 2016 Kindness Challenge…is the blogosphere vibrating with this sort of thing? Are they good ways to promote your own blog and gather new friends ?? New really does mean new 😊

    Like

    1. I did a mindfulness course at the end of February and it’s amazing how much that’s changed things for me. I try to practice it daily and it makes such a difference.

      I think there are many reasons for blogging challenges- encourage bloggers to blog more often, engage with one another, make blog friends, develop creativity… I wanted to come up with one but I wasn’t really sure what and thought that a challenge extending outside of the blogosphere might be fun. I’m sure my blog will generate some more exposure but that’s not the goal of this challenge.

      If you’re wondering why I’m just responding to this now…your comment somehow went to my spam folder…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. How strange….that happened on another bloggers blog too πŸ€” Maybe I post too much rubbish on your blog !! I chucked your meet and greet at a few of my friends too by the way. You are right about mindfulnes too….it can be a mind changing experience…I found it really exposed me to terrible default thinking instead of stepping out into the moment. I think the challenges are a good thing too….more exposure yes bit also bringing other bloggers into contact and growing your own and our own communities. πŸ˜‡

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I intend to…booked onto it again next month πŸ˜‡

        Same here re goals…and I’m pretty pleased I met you in the last meet and greet….will definitely be there this weekend πŸ™ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Same here….I mean it’s like I’ve known you years!! That doesn’t happen very often in my world !! I just posted the weirdest comment on your meet and greet too…no idea where it came from apart from school lessons…it might be clear it might be is he drunk πŸ‘»

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I will take that as a compliment and not a satirical statement of jovial sinister under meaning…which is a favourite expression…under meaning that is, not jovial sinister….oooh boo title…Under Meaning…I could work with that one….best write that down….or is that a line out it Worlds End…whose main character is, apparently, me πŸ€”

        It does though…it’s like old friends that haven’t met for ages and just pick up as if the intervening time didn’t exist! Which of course it didn’t…and neither did the bit before…but semantics….point is it feels like that…if you see what I mean πŸ€”

        Liked by 1 person

      5. It took me ages to add that button last weekend.. But I think I know how it sort of generates traffic but it requires a group of people working together liking each other’s Stumble to raise their profiles on the site…the more like or shares the higher up the ranking..the more hits on the blog and so on. It’s a time thing though…it’s bad enough just doing here and Facebook πŸ€’

        Liked by 1 person

      6. You know I’ve contemplated that a lot, the traffic that my blog gets. Honestly I feel like those that find it are meant to, and I’m ok with that. Personally it would be a very empty experience to have thousands of hits with little to no engagement. I prefer getting to know my readers, having people that come back post after post and that are in it for the long haul πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I have a pensioner friend who writes to pop stars to berate the lyrics and has built up a massive following because the stars actually engage him and write back. He’s written a book about it. He calls a few of us the originals because we engaged him right at the start…..I like that personal touch though…I’m trying to get that connection with people here….view hits are one thing but actual comments and the real connection is priceless….I had a similar conversation with another blogger only yesterday… I reckon your approach is a good one too…..goes back to the universal draw of like minded folk….that once met feel so natural it’s like you are just meeting up with an old friend who you’ve not seen for ages 😊 Although by old…I don’t mean really old….it could be a young old friend..or a totally young friend…or….I best shut up now 😱

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Wow that sounds like a very interesting read. Does he blog as well? You know there was a part of me that hoped that my blog would go viral when I started. Not because I wanted to be internet famous for a day but because I thought that would spread my vibes of simple living, compassion, kindness… then I realized that going viral isn’t what it seemed. It’s pretty much that post taking off, getting a lot of buzz and then the crowd moving onto the next thing. That’s the opposite of what I want so I’m ok with never going viral and hope instead for an intimate community feel on my blog no matter how many or how few followers I have πŸ™‚ hahahah new old friends, young old friends… πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      9. No he doesn’t blog…yet….I might ask him if I can do a feature on here…I can probably say now that will be a yes…the website is here

        http://www.wilfturnbull.co.uk

        You can access his Facebook page from there. His books on Amazon kindle too. I have an acknowledgement in it as one of the Originals lol…he also sent me two printed copies…. Bit envious as I want printed copies of mine πŸ˜•

        Top bloke though. An intimate blog community is what I’m aiming for here…I wanted initially to just promote the heck out of my writing as a pressure to publish in a way to make me look an idiot if I fail to do so…now the strangers are becoming friends the emphasis has changed…might still try and use other platforms to generate traffic but that’s more because I don’t understand them and want to…if that makes sense πŸ€”

        Like

      10. You’re welcome and I think I’ll do that in the coming month….just waiting to hear back from him now as it happens πŸ˜‡

        I’m pretty flexible to changing my mind it seems too…but then I love meeting people. It’s why I struggle with Twitter!!

        Like

  3. Hi Niki, Gratitude is so important, it is the first thing I do every morning and the last thing I do at night, I go over my day and give gratitude for everything, big or small, and in the morning, I am so grateful for having another wonderful day………..Congratulations on your weekend !
    theutopiauniverse.com
    Brooke

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s such an important thing to do! I am also grateful every morning, usually say a few words of thanks in the shower. Then before I go to bed I’m sure to be thankful for all of the good things of the day. I love to look back on the week and be thankful as well because it’s easy to get distracted by the unexpected and unpleasant things and by starting and ending each day with gratitude it doesn’t let the negativity prevail πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. There are so many things to be grateful for this week, where do I even begin? Blogging has a way of bringing out my gratitude! I’m also trying to develop a practice of continual mindfulness, prayer and awareness of God’s presence throughout the day, regardless of what I happen to be doing, and sometimes the easiest way to do that when I feel most separate from the prayerful, mindful person that I want to be, is by grounding myself in gratitude. Sometimes, I recount little things that I am grateful for, (like an automatic garage door opener on those mornings when my hands are full of books and bags), and sometimes I focus on the really big things, like my amazing friends and family. Today, I’m grateful for the warm, summery weather that this weekend brought, my attention-grabbing cat, who reminds me that there is more to life than productivity, and the staff at my apartment complex, who are always so friendly and kind.

    Also, I just want to say, hooray to you for having the courage to face your own self, see the gap between who you are and who you want to be, and accept yourself. The pain is real, but it doesn’t last. The strength we find and the growth that springs from that place is the lasting benefit.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Absolutely beautiful! What wonderful things to be grateful for and excellent things to focus on! Thank you, you’re right the path doesn’t last long. It’s just the protective later of your ego being peeled off and with the healing comes clarity πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I find on Sundays more than any other day, I am grateful for my church. I have an amazing church who is a bible preaching church. The pastor backs up his sermons always by scripture. This is so very important to me as I continue on my own journey of faith. It’s because of this church and God speaking to me, I am now reading my bible every day. I rarely miss a day. This has increased my confidence in knowing I am truly loved for me.

    Liked by 2 people

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

