Fit Friday- Body Image

I have to be honest, I haven’t been committed to my fitness for the past month and a half. Last Friday was my last day at work so I made a decision that this month I was going to focus on being more active. We started renting a car about two months ago and that was the worst thing that could have happened to my active lifestyle!

I still walk, but not as much. I was walking about 3-5 miles a day out of necessity. Now I walk about 1-3 miles a day, it’s better than nothing but I can see the difference that it’s made in my weight. On one of my last Fit Friday posts I celebrated a weight loss achievement, I haven’t stepped on a scale in a while but I’m pretty sure I’ve gained it back and some.

Like I said, this month I’m focusing on being more committed to my active lifestyle. I started Yoga class this week. I go twice a week to Power Yoga for an hour. Boy has that been an unexpected emotional roller-coaster… The class itself is great and I love the instructor, she’s very sweet, encouraging and supportive. I’m the heaviest person in the class (I can’t remember the last time I took a fitness class) and I see myself in the mirror for an hour twice a week. I hadn’t realized how bad my body image issues were until I started this class! I realized that I avoid mirrors at all costs (I only have full length mirrors on my closet doors and I never really look in them) and I don’t like to be in pictures (I’m alright with head-shots but not my full body). The picture thing is really sad to me because a lot of times we’ll look back on trips from a weekend or a family event and I’m not in many if any at all. I don’t want my kids to look back and not have pictures to spark the memories.

pexels-photo-large (27)

I enjoy going to Yoga and it’s funny because I leave the class feeling really peaceful and relaxed but emotionally exhausted. I struggle to get in the poses, I wiggle to maintain them, and my wrists hurt from not being used to supporting my weight on them. I try to focus on the bright side that I’m more flexible than I thought. I’m able to do all of the stretching and bending poses with ease (I guess my childhood gymnastics classes served me well). I’ve only been to two classes so far and I was able to get into Salamba Sirsasana (which is a supported headstand) more easily last night than I was on Tuesday. I was surprised by the improvement from just one class to the next. So now I just need to focus on working my core so I can strengthen it and practice the poses so I can hold them longer in the proper position.

I’m also going to start walking more on the days that I don’t have Yoga and do some fitness DVDs that I have at home. Hopefully increasing my activity level combined with juicing I’ll be able to lose the 40 pounds I’m looking to loose to get back to my ideal weight. It may only be 40 pounds but it looks and feels like a lot more. I want to get back to my ideal weight so I can feel better about myself and as a preventative health measure. I want to feel good about seeing my reflection in the mirror and not wonder how I got this big and only looking at my problem areas. I want to wear a tank top without being self-conscious about my arms jiggling. I want to wear shorts for the first time in almost 10 years. I want to put on a two piece bathing suit and wear it with confidence. I want to be in better shape in my 30’s than I was in my 20’s.


How’s your fitness journey going? Are you making goals and crushing them? If not, what’s stopping you? What can you do to get around it? What help keeps you consistent? What motivates you? Can you relate to this post? Have you ever been able to relate to it? Are you in your “after” phase now? Share your thoughts!

Don’t forget the Kindness Challenge starts Monday! If you haven’t signed up yet you’re just in time to start with us from week 1! We start the challenge off with self-kindness, something I need a dose of after Yoga class!

46 thoughts on “Fit Friday- Body Image

  1. My fitness plans have been on the shelf for about two months now. So I can relate to this. I am thinking of going for a long walk tomorrow to enjoy some me-time. Hopefully, that’s the beginning of getting back to my routine.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I know exactly what you mean! I have reached my size limit to, currently a size below that but won’t let that make me complacent. Good for you! Sounds like you are taking exactly the steps you need to to get that process started! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree! I realize the less I do, the less I want to do especially in the fitness department. Outside of organized sports fitness isn’t really fun to me but it’s a necessity. Hopefully yoga will help me get on track. How did your morning swim go?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I did an ai chi class, like tai chi in the water. Surprisingly difficult and finding my balance wasn’t the best. It’s lots of slow poses in the water, so balance, strength but no joint impact. I worked with a trainer yesterday on circuit training so the water was good today. Getting myself there is 90 percent of it! Yoga will be good, I bet

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ve never heard of that but it sounds interesting and intense. It’s always harder to exercise in slow motion 😉 I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it after a few classes! I agree, going is over half the battle. Cheers! I look forward to catching yo next Friday and seeing how we do with our fitness endeavors 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Actually posting about this today. Body image is a huge psychological factor in long term health and fitness. And sadly, there is so much stigma around what it means to healthy, that people have learned to believe that fitness is equated to a size. Just remember that the goal is the best you possible, and a body that is healthy and confident, not necessarily a size 2.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah that’s why I wrote the wrote I chose for the picture. Had a hard time finding quotes that captured the essence of my post today. I don’t measure myself in weight but by size. A 2 is not realistic for my frame or body type. I’m pear shaped so I’ll be able to get by with a medium top in my best shape but not smaller than a 6 in pants because my hips just won’t fit in even in my best shape. I’m ok with that, just need to do what I need to do to get back to that…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well just focus on how you feel when you feel strong or fit, and not how you look. Confidence is a beautiful cloth to wear when you love who you are no matter what the body looks like.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I feel pretty confident when I don’t see myself. It has been an unexpected self discovery I made this week. I’ll be working on it but in the meantime I wanted to post about it for what it is because this is where I come to put it all out there not hide. It feels good to share I’m not at my best all of the time and that’s ok. I’m not one to put up a front so you never know what you’re going to get over here 🙂

        Like

      3. I wouldn’t say new…I’ve been this weight for the past 6 years or so…I guess I just don’t realize I look as heavy as I do because I avoid pictures and mirrors. When I look at myself I don’t feel like I look as big as when I see myself in the mirror… I don’t know why that is… I don’t want to “accept” it because then I feel like I’ll never go back to how I was or make an effort to lose weight. It’s so much easier to gain the weight unfortunately. Yes, kindness does begin with yourself so this self-discovery is coming at the perfect time as that’s the first step of the challenge. I’m excited to see how it will play out… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck with your workouts. When I first started the yoga classes I always went to the back where there’s the least chance of seeing myself in the mirror. Now it’s gotten better to where I forget about how big my body is during those poses and just be glad that I’m able to work well with the ones that I can do (limit because of arthritis in the hips)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unfortunately we’re all in the front because it’s a small studio and all of us had to be in a line to fit in the room, trust me I’d be the first one in the back if I could. I do see the benefit of having to face myself in the mirror though… Good for you! I hope that you perfect the poses you can do and reap the benefits of them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Niki, I’m impressed that you can do that headstand! I used to love doing yoga, but I never could bring myself to do a headstand. You’re inspiring me to get back into yoga. It hurts my wrists too, doing a lot of down dogs. But I love the calm it gives me, and also toner muscles. That’s it, I’m going back! Sounds like you’re in a good workout routine. I know how hard it is to keep it up and stay motivated. Take it day by day, and try not to get discouraged. It’s a process, that’s for sure! Have a lovely weekend, Niki! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh! The wrists are the worst! I did notice that my hands don’t touch the mat completely so I’m going to work on that, I wonder if that will alleviate some of the pressure on my wrists if my palms touch flat… Yes the muscles!! I didn’t think Yoga would sculpt much but I figured it’d be a good way to ease back into a routine… Now I’m reconsidering the term “ease”. I tell my mom it’s a weight lifting session (using my own weight!). I feel the burn in my arms today so I’m hopeful to see some results by sticking to it. I had to join a class because it gives me accountability. If I commit to something on my own as far as fitness, I know that the moment something comes up it will derail my schedule and I hate putting so much work and dedication into it to let one off day turn into months (ok over a year) of off days. How exciting! You’ll love it! You know how it is, takes a few times to get in the swing of things but honestly I do leave feeling better than when I arrived. During the session I get all emotional because I’m overweight but by the time we hit the 10 minute cool down and she does the guided meditation like voice, that’s it, I all but sleep walk home! Thanks for taking the time to comment Jenny!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I thought it was just me who has trouble with my wrists. I used to look around the room and no one else seemed to be bothered by it. I’d have to take a break and kind of roll my hands/wrists around, then they’d feel better. But it’s not that bad that it should stop me from doing yoga! I need to get back to it! Great for you Niki that you’re going!! Like I just said in my other comment to you, don’t be too hard on yourself ☺️ Take care!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah I seem to be the only one with wrist pain, but I’ll remind the instructor on Tuesday to see what tips she can give and be sure to pass them along 🙂 I agree, not enough to keep me from doing Yoga! I had to get my feelings out there but I feel better now, and I’ve done a couple of sessions over the weekend and even practiced my headstand 🙂

        Like

    1. Thanks for the suggestion! I mentioned it at the end of class so she told me to remind her on Tuesday so she can see what I’m doing and make suggestions. I appreciate the tip, I’ll do that over the weekend 🙂

      Like

  5. I have no problem scheduling meetings, hair appointments, vet appointments, etc. But, I can’t for the life of me schedule in my day workout appointments even though I know I’d feel so much better. If I could just schedule them into my day like everything else, I would be much more successful. Oy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so funny because I was just talking to my mom about this post yesterday and we said the same thing. We said that working out needed to be a calendar appointment that we looked at as a commitment to ourselves. We have no problem keeping commitments to others but for some reason something as important as ourselves we let slip through the cracks. Maybe try a 15-20 minute slot twice next week and see how that works for you. Make sure to stop back by next Friday and let me know how you did, we can do this! 🙂

      Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

