Blogging Tips- Readership Tips

In this post I’m going to share a few tips that can improve the experience for readers or increase your followers. These are just tips and my personal recommendation, no need to implement them just wanted you to consider them if you haven’t already.

Publish day/time-

One thing to take into consideration is when to publish your post. Just because you couldn’t sleep and decided to write at 2 am doesn’t necessarily make that the best time to hit the publish button. Take a look at your stats page and see where the majority of your followers read your posts from. Publish your posts during a time that makes sense that most people will be off work or at lunch so your post gets the most views. Another helpful stat can be found under the “Insights” tab. You’ll see a section titled “Most popular day and hour”. You might want to use that as a guide to publish your posts. If you want maximum exposure to your audience, schedule your post on that day or close to that time. You can read about scheduling a post here.

If you really want to make sure that your post gets the best chances of being read, publish it throughout the day. That way any readers that didn’t see it the first time around have the chance to see it since it won’t be so far down on their reader. Personally I update it the moment I want the post to be published again so that it doesn’t sit in “scheduled posts” until the new publish time rolls around. I republish the post 8 to 12 hours after it went live by editing the post, changing the time and clicking the “update” button. I won’t list the steps because it varies depending on the device you are using. I only do this between midnight and 11:59 pm of the day the post was originally published. If you publish after midnight of the original post date, the link will not work for anyone that shared your post or any posts you linked it to on your blog! Be sure to keep that in mind!

Increase views

I’ve mentioned before that one of the best ways to increase views is to engage with other bloggers. Building an audience can be difficult in an online world with no shortage of blogs. One of the best ways to get views is to mingle! Read other blogs and like their posts, comment, even better reply to others that have already commented. Join the conversation. Bloggers will want to know about the person that commented on their post or responded to a comment they left on another post. They’ll click on your blog and browse through. It might result in a few extra views or it might lead to another follower! If you find a meet and greet or a link party, I encourage you to participate. I met a large number of my neighbors at such events. The takeaway here is to engage, the more you engage with others, the easier it is for them to find their way back to your blog!

Screenshot 2016-05-12 at 11.17.24 AM (1).pngFollow Button

Great! Now that you are on your way to getting more people to your blog, help them easily find their way back! There’s nothing more frustrating than finding a blog you love and not finding a follow button! This is assuming you’re on the WordPress platform. Not everyone wants to receive an email notification so having your new posts hit their reader is the perfect way to get them to come back when you post! There is a difference between this and the next tip which is to follow by email.

Screenshot 2016-05-12 at 11.17.24 AM.pngFollow Blog (also known as subscription)

Not everyone that reads your blog is on WordPress or some may prefer to receive an email. If you’re a WordPress blogger, you’ll want to add the “Follow Blog” widget. This will send an email every time a post is published to the readers that sign up to follow your blog via email.

About you-

Now you have ways of bloggers finding you and helping them follow you. What do they know about you when they read your blog? Are you willing to share something about yourself? You can either add an “About Me” page or add the “About.me Widget” to your sidebar. Here you can let your readers get to know the person behind the posts. You can include your name, picture, and any details you want to introduce yourself to your visitors. It’s ok to remain anonymous if that’s what you want, but I’ve found sharing at least your first name makes your blog feel more personable. You might want to share why you started blogging, what the purpose of your blog is, or why you choose to blog anonymously.

Spread the blog love!

This is probably one of my favorite ways to network. There are various ways to do this. You can feature blogs or posts on your blog regularly or as you come across them. I have several neighbors that regularly feature posts they come across and blogs they love! This is a great way to support bloggers that you love and send readers their way. The bread crumbs lead back and you will likely get a couple of views. Another way is to reblog. When you find a post you particularly love, click that reblog button! I’ve come across bloggers that use this as a feature, they regularly reblog posts they love on a particular day each week. If you prefer, you can use social media to share links to blogs across the web that lead back to other blogs. Be sure to tag them so they know you’re paying it forward.

Guest Post-

Promote your blog
Click here to see how you can promote your blog!

 

Has all of this meeting, greeting and engaging with bloggers led to some connections? You might want to consider guest posting. This works both ways, you can offer a blogger the opportunity to write a post to feature on your blog or you can ask to collaborate and write a post for their blog. Do what feels right for you but it’s just another option to consider!

Can you think of anything I missed? If you have any questions, leave a comment and I’ll get back to you. I’m not an expert so if any information seems inaccurate, please feel free to gently let me know so I can make corrections. Did you find this post helpful? I’d love to hear back from you with your thoughts on this post! 

Click here for more blogging tips!

Make sure to check out the first part of this series for definitions of any blog terms you might not be familiar with.

94 thoughts on “Blogging Tips- Readership Tips

  1. This is really helpful! Thanks, Niki. I was wondering and still can’t figure out…how do you republish something. I see sometimes at the top of my reader one of your posts that I already saw and liked hours ago…and I wonder…how does she do that? Now you said you just republish, but there’s no button for that… 😀

    Liked by 5 people

    1. I added this to make it more clear. Let me know if this works or if I need to reword it 🙂

      So I republish the post a few times a day by editing the post, changing the time and clicking the “update” button. I won’t list the steps because it varies depending on the device you are using.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. It does! I use it everyday hahaha. It just”refreshes” it so it’s not starting from scratch. If you want to feature the post on another day, just reblog it (yup you can reblog your own posts!)… giving away my future tips… 😮 😉

        Liked by 2 people

    2. hahaha Ioana, I thought the same 😀
      Niki, I’ve been seeing your posts showing up a second time on the top of my feed and I was thinking ‘there must be some kind of error, I already read this post and now I’m seeing a duplicate’ – so funny! I also didn’t know that by republishing the same day WP would keep likes and comments. Maybe this is just a stupid thought, but aren’t you guys afraid that people can get annoyed somehow and stop following?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I thought the same thing when it happened to me with blogs I followed. Actually at first I assumed there was just no new content… Yes it keeps your likes and comments but just don’t post the next day because it breaks the link. I’m not sure, I think it depends on the person. My train of thought is there’s a lot going on in the blogosphere and I can’t expect my posts to be seen by everyone. When I already read something I just scroll past it. I’ve been doing it for months and I’ve only noticed 1 less follower because the number was catchy and the next time I saw it, the count was down 1 so I don’t think people are too bothered. Most of my readers are bloggers so I think they get it. Unless you live on your reader or don’t have a lot of blogs you follow you might not even notice the duplicate posts… Couldn’t say for sure. Do whatever works best for you Ines 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. :)) Well, the minute I realised it, I thought…ok, I’ll do it just once a day…maybe 8 hours away from the actual publish. And maybe not with every single boring post, but with posts I want to make sure people see…like events, meet and greets, challenges…stuff like that. I did subscribe to a blog…millionaire something and I just couldn’t see any other blog in my reader because they were everywhere, all the time…so annoying…I thought, even if I like some of their articles, I have to unfollow…it’s too annoying.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. During the day I do it less frequently. In the evening hours I do it more often because I get so many views that way and more engagement. There’s some posts I republish more like you said Ioana and some I only do once. Generally the more I put into a post the more I “refresh” it 😉 The more blogs I add to my reader the less I notice refreshed posts. I have one that I follow that used to drive me crazy but I loved the content. Once I started adding a few blogs it made a big difference, even just 5 more blogs I noticed the refreshed posts less after I read them. It really depends on the person and their reader… 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      4. Yes, I guess it’s a matter of finding the perfect balance 🙂 Twice a day seems good to me, once with European readers in mind and another time for the readers in the States. Thanks for the tips ladies! Have a good night

        Liked by 2 people

  2. All good solid advice, Niki. I had recently started publishing my posts a couple of times during the same day – just to keep it fresh and up front – and it made a huge difference! It was so evident from my stats that I was managing to connect with more of my fellow bloggers 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah, with time zones and work schedules it’s not practical to think that your followers will see it in the window of time it’s at the top of the reader. I did it on accident one time and thought the blog world was crashing down on me! Then I realized what I had accidentally done and it made sense as to how other bloggers content showed up in my reader more than once…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes!!! I swore to myself never to WordPress on my phone (a promise I break all of the time and always wish I listened to myself) and thought oh nooooo!! How do I take this back? Undo, undo!!! And it was the best blogging mistake I’ve made yet! hahahaha. The worst is publishing a draft…did that this week (doh! I hate it when that happens!!).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lol I haven’t published a draft yet but I’m always paranoid I might accident it do that. I use WordPress on my phone all the time! It’s so much more convenient but not at all good for writing … So I will fire up the PC to write something, it’s just more comfortable lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh my gosh! It’s an amateur move yet somehow I’ve managed to do it on several occasions. Most of the time it’s when there’s a lag due to internet connectivity being slow. This time I just forgot to push out the post because I wasn’t able to edit in time… I ALWAYS write from my laptop and usually republish from the phone app because it’s quicker. I try not to comment from the phone but sometimes I can’t resist the urge and usually regret it thanks to auto correct…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey thanks for the tips. I wasn’t aware of publishing throughout the day and I can see how that may make a difference in the amount of views, especially if you follow a lot of blogs. A post can easily get lost in the reader. Thanks.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I understand the reason behind publishing throughout the day, but what does that do to email subscribers? I have several of those those, both from my work and my family, and I think I’d have a riot on my hands if they were getting four or five emails a day. :O

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m pretty sure that they would only get it when the post is originally published. I follow several bloggers that do this and don’t recall getting additional emails. Technically it’s the same post so I think it just shows up on your reader. I’ll do some digging when I get a chance and confirm. If someone follows me via email and can confirm that’d be great too because I republish at least one post various times a day…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay, I’m a dope. I follow you via email and I’ve never gotten the same post twice! In my defense, I haven’t been following you long!
        Do you republish every post? If so, then your point is proven, there’s only one email per post.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha no worries! I second guessed myself even though I was pretty sure I confirmed it at some point before I started doing it regularly. I do it everyday. The majority of my readers are in the US and I’m 8 hours ahead of them and when I started doing this I saw my stats improve immediately because my posts were always at the bottom of the reader!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad that you’ve found a time-frame that works well for you and your followers! I write in the evening but with the majority of my followers being in the States, I schedule posts to publish at midnight my time that way it’s evening/night in the states when people are generally off work. Thanks for sharing Tony!

      Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

