One Question With So Many Answers

It’s funny because last week I was having a conversation with Stephanie and she asked me where I was from. This question has always confused me because I never know what people want to know when they ask that.

Do they mean where was I born? Where I grew up? Where I live? None of those questions have the same answer for me.Β I grew up in a military family so we moved around growing up. I won’t say we moved a lot because there were families that moved every year or two. We moved on average every 4 years,Β so that’s a lot if you never moved growing up but seems like nothing if you switched schools every grade.

So I’ll share the answer to all of the versions of “where are you from?” that I can think of. I was born on an air base in Spain. I don’t consider myself “from” anywhere. I’ve lived in Spain, Germany, South Dakota, Arizona, and Kentucky. I currently live in the Canary Islands (if you’ve never heard of them, check out my local travel posts or Google for pictures of some gorgeous islands you don’t hear much about globally).Β So there you have it, an ordinary question that I figured I could use as a blog prompt and share a little about myself.

17 thoughts on “One Question With So Many Answers

  1. This is the Age of Terrorism so I think asking people where they come from is a bit dodgy.
    Asking where someone comes from is like saying “How are you” instead of “Pleased to meet you”.
    Is anyone really happy if you say you are an inmate at Guantanamo Bay and you escaped last night???
    If you say the suburb where you currently live, or something similar, the person will feel close to you. Surely that is the kind thing to do. At least one of you can demonstrate kindness and it won’t be a lie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha in this case it was because I always reference being on London time een though I don’t live in London or England for that matter but that’s the time zone I’m in.

      In the states your accent usually gives you away at least within the right region, the particular state can be tricky depending… Overseas it’s kind of fun to see where everyone is from and that there are so many people from so many different countries. You can walk by people from 50 different countries on a given day where I live πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. My family is from Ireland but my parents moved to the States. I’m American but still consider myself very Irish. That’s what i identify with, but if someone asked where I’m from I’d say Illinois. My parents are from Ireand which people asked all the time because of their accents.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha I can imagine πŸ™‚ It’s a rough job but someone’s gotta do it! πŸ˜‰ There’s something magical about this little place. The more I explore the more I love it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I definitely hear this. I was born in Mass….and then moved to VT halfway through 4th grade. Moved to NH for 7th thru 12th. Moved to FL for almost a year when I was 19, back to NH, headed to Maine when I was 23 for four years, and now I am in NC πŸ™‚ little bit of everything πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. On the flip side at least you can relate to a lot of people because of course people always feel connected to someone that’s been or lived where they’re from πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. I struggle with this question as well! I grew up as an Army brat and had my fair share of moving. Not quite as much as my sisters and my brother, but more than most people. Most of the time I claim Vermont since it is my favorite place I have lived, but I still hesitate to answer the question! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

