Small Things Bring Great Smiles

I have to admit, since my work contracted ended at the beginning of the month I haven’t been getting out as much as I should. I’ve been very inspired and have been spending more time at home because generally creative mode has me in homebody mode to get things done!

It’s been about two years since I’ve watched the news regularly. It dampened my mood and changed my view of the world. It seemed like good things never happened and I didn’t want to buy into that mentality any longer. I didn’t want to let the constant buffet of bad news be served into my thoughts and I din’t want to let my choices be limited by a fear of “what if“.

Instead I frequent various online publications highlighting good news. I also do random searches in YouTube to watch random acts of kindness. Sometimes I just watch clips of Ellen’s show with my oldest because we both love her humor and her kindheartedness. Some of my favorite good news pieces from around the web this week are-

  1. 12 pictures of people doing good things
  2. Waste not, want not
  3. Officer’s kindness goes public
  4. Proud to be a member of this organization
  5. Thank you Lindsay for sharing this adorable story!

pexels-photo-large-26

As inspired as I was and as much time as I spent being productive (depends who’s definition of productive you use…) I did get out of the house on a few occasions this week. One outing was thanks to an appointment we had to design our kitchen we are going to remodel. I must say the employee that helped us was amazing. We had tried 3 other times at 3 different places and I could tell it just wasn’t going to work out. The moment I met Alejandro and he scheduled our appointment for us to come back I told my husband I had a good feeling. He was very helpful, attentive and respectful.

When we sat down with him for the two hours he warned it would take he was exceptional. He was courteous, patient with us (even though the kids got a bit antsy), and went out of his way to understand what we wanted. Is this his job? Yes. Does that mean he has to do it with a good attitude? No. So frankly I appreciated his demeanor that extended beyond professional courtesy. We got to talking and discovered it was his birthday later in the week, got to know a little about him and he showed us pictures of his own recent kitchen remodel. It was so nice to get to know him as a person; that happened because his kindness opened the door for small-talk as we waited for the screens to load between design tweaks.

Another outing came the next day when I happily pulled myself away from my project of inspiration to go to yoga. One of my favorite things about yoga is my class. The instructor is amazing! She’s this tiny petite little lady with such a big heart and warm smile! I adore her! She’s incredibly supportive and motivating. It’s not just the instructor, the other ladies that go to the class are amazing as well! It’s a small group of 5-7 of us depending on the day. We are all lined up and in front of the class which can be a little intimidating but the group is so warm and encouraging it doesn’t feel like you’re front and center. Due to the small class size and the large mirrored wall we all have an idea of where the other is at with each pose. Whenever we do something that we haven’t been able to before, we give that person a small applause. I’m not sure if that’s regular yoga class protocol but I love it!

This week I received two rounds of applause and it was so nice to celebrate my small achievements with such an encouraging group! As good as it felt to be supported like that, it’s so much more rewarding when you applaud others! We’ve had a couple of people that have try yoga out during our session and the look on their face when we applaud them is priceless! They smile ear to ear and it puts them at ease. The regulars push themselves more in the pose after the applause, you can just see the confidence build within them!

pexels-photo-91147-large

I loved this week because while I generally make the conscious effort to take in the beauty around me (sunsets, flowers, animals) to help me be more mindful of the moment I’m in, I can’t say I’m always on the lookout for the kind things people do. This definitely changed the way that I approached things and reacted to things. As nice and helpful as Alejandro was, he did take a customer without an appointment before us and ended up sitting down with us an hour later than scheduled. Normally this would really irritate me and I would have been tempted to reschedule. It was a school-night and I tried to coordinate the appointment with my husband’s work schedule as well as my 18 month old’s bedtime… I didn’t take that hour delay into consideration. We walked around the store and killed some time and in the end we had the store to ourselves and the girls played hide and seek in the bedroom displays next to us with other employees laughing as they watched.  All of this would have been very different had I not been open to focusing on kindness!


Thank you so much for reading! Please remember that this is my personal reflection of the week. To pingback  (link) to the Kindness Challenge reflection post for the week, make sure to link it to this post.

I can’t wait to read through all of your reflection posts! Don’t forget to pingback (link) so they’re all in the same place. Use the RevofKindness tag to make it easier to search for posts on WorPress and maximize the challenge exposure on social media.

12 thoughts on “Small Things Bring Great Smiles

      1. That’s very true! Probably why I like her sense of humor so much even though I never really thought about that. My daughter has really curly hair which is a nightmare to comb tangles out of. We watch Ellen while I comb her hair as she gets ready for school and we laugh so hard she forgets I’m detangling her hair (which is really saying something for her!) 🙂 It’s a great way to start the day with cramps in your cheeks from laughing so hard 🙂

        Like

  1. What a wonderful post Niki, it sounds as though you had a lovely week. Changing our focus to see kindness really does make a difference. Hope you’re having a great weekend. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 Yes we’ve had a lot of fun coming up with a functional updated kitchen 🙂 You too! Hahaha thank you! That’s one pain I would never mind having 🙂

      Like

  2. I love The Ellen Show and her kindness too! I am getting ready to finish up my week two post but just wanted to chime in on yours and I am going to visit all the other people taking part in this challenge. Thank you again for hosting this. I really did not think about how much this would impact me but it has. Strange how things like this type of challenge can show you so many things about yourself and others. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I watched a ton of Ellen clips over the weekend and I can’t help but smile! She has such a great personality!! Even when other people are talking the look on her face, she’s so sweet! Awww I’m so glad to hear that Annette! I hope your son is enjoying it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

