Showing Kindness In Many Ways- Week 3 Reflection

This week’s challenge was to act and react from a place of kindness. I surely have room to increase my percentage but overall, I’m pretty pleased with my efforts. This week kindness looked like-

  • Patience 
  • Listening 
  • Understanding
  • Refraining from judgment
  • Being considerate
  • Politeness
  • Courtesy
  • Thoughtfulness both in words and actions
  • Sympathy
  • Empathy
  • Flexibility
  • Appreciation
  • Gratefulness

I can often be found smiling but this week I found myself smiling even when I was just at home alone with my 18 month old. I found myself savoring things in a way that I didn’t before and noticing the gentle and kind things around me. I noticed how my 18 month old will play on her own and come up to me to give me a kiss just because. I noticed how tender my 7 year old is with her baby sister. I noticed how thoughtful my husband is and how nice it was for him to take the girls out for a bit so I could have the house to myself for an hour before I had to get ready for yoga.

pexels-photo-92332-largeI noticed that the more I focused on being kind, the more I recognized the kindness in others. I’m sure there were plenty of moments this week I could have chosen to gripe about but because I was so focused on finding the good, honestly I can’t recall anything- and that’s saying something! My former self could have come up with a list of 10 negative things that occurred in the past day in less than 15 seconds.  I love how this challenge is doing exactly what I hoped it would and more.

This week was especially pleasant because I reminded myself that being kind isn’t only doing nice or spontaneous things for people.

Being kind is also about the way that I choose to live my life with the choices I make on a daily basis and the actions that define me as a person.

I still have room to grow but with each kind word, gentle action, and acceptance of others I found it being something I had to think about less and something that took over naturally. I started the week off reminding myself to speak out of kindness, think kind thoughts and react from a place of kindness. As the week went on, I had found myself needing to stop less to repeat my mantra and just let kindness take over. That’s an autopilot that I’m happy to be the driving force behind my actions!


Please remember this is my personal reflection post! To pingback (link) your post to the challenge post, please go to the Weekly Links to find the challenge week you’re on and pingback there. 

I’m so thankful for all of you sharing your stories. They really touch my heart and make me so proud to be on this journey with you! 

If you are participating in the challenge but aren’t on the WordPress platform, please be sure to leave a link to your post in the comments section of the actual challenge post. Click on the “Weekly Links” above in yellow.


For details on how the challenge started see this post.

Sign up here. There is no deadline to start. If you miss the start date, feel free to start from week 1 and work your way through the challenge, we’ll be waiting for you at the finish line!

 

18 thoughts on “Showing Kindness In Many Ways- Week 3 Reflection

  1. I really love this Niki – to understand that kindness is a way you can choose to live your life is profound. And doing that and getting such positive “feedback” of what’s showing up in your world is so delightful isn’t it?! Wishing you another wonderful week filled with kindness.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful words of hope and inspiration! I tend to be rather hard on myself and hyper-critical, and whenever I catch myself being unkind, I begin to despair that I will never be the loving (i.e., perfect) person that I so long to be (I wrote a post about it here https://realadventuresofbecomingme.wordpress.com/2016/04/13/change/). That you are noticing changes in the way you think and respond in such a short amount of time is encouraging. I am telling myself that it is not just you, and that I too, am changing, even if I can’t see it myself or won’t admit it. I will always have room to grow, but I AM growing, with each positive thought, word, and action, and with each time I resist the urge to participate in the negativity, gossiping, scandalizing, and cynicism around me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Letting go of the notion of perfection was hard and life changing for me. I no longer take myself so seriously, I can laugh at myself easily without malice, and I enjoy life more. Chasing perfection is hard and stressful. It’s only been about 3 years but they’ve been the most enjoyable years of my life (something my former self never would have believed!). You’re absolutely right, each thought, action and word is a step and before you know it you’ll easily notice the choices the new you makes that the old you wouldn’t have. That’s a great point! I’m not often in gossiping situations anymore but that is a great choice to stay away from it. No good comes from it and now even thinking about it makes me feel down and heavy. Take it one choice at a time, you have plenty of chances everyday to make healthy and kind choices ❤

      Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

