Week 3 Reflection Post- My 7 Year Old’s Week

 

I thought I’d do something different this week. I didn’t get a chance to come up with questions to ask her so I thought I’d give an overview of her week highlighting the conversations we had and things I observed.

This week was especially exciting for me as I saw her extend kindness in ways she probably doesn’t even realize. She has a friend that’s a few years older than her that walks home from school alone. She usually has me wait for her so we can walk home together. They had fruit delivered to school for a snack and one of her classmates wanted strawberries so she switched snacks with her classmate no questions asked. One thing that especially touches my heart is how attentive she is. The Special Ed class has recess at the same time as her class does and a lot of times the teachers have a hard time getting the kids to want to leave the recess area. My daughter has made friends with several of the specially gifted children and makes a game of leaving so they’ll just follow suit. She’ll even help them to class when they change rooms throughout the day holding their hand and accompanying them.

pexels-photo-88647-large (1)

She’s also very caring and attentive with her little sister. She’s 6 years older and is always willing to help out without asking. She does whatever she can to keep her happy and occupied when I’m getting meals together, plays games with her even though they’re “baby” games, and comforts and cuddles with her every chance she gets. She’s very loving, gentle and tender. Her little sister can be quite the beast and tends to be pretty rough and even then she doesn’t lose her temper or snap. She’ll try to get her to settle down or let me or my husband deal with it.

I’m very proud of the wonderful person that she is even at 7 years old. I love the patience she has, how thoughtful she is, and how she always sees the good in everyone. This challenge comes pretty naturally to her but she participates because she wants to support me and I appreciate it more than she knows!

17 thoughts on “Week 3 Reflection Post- My 7 Year Old’s Week

  1. Your daughter is a breath of fresh air. I have a sneaking suspicion she didn’t magically develop this kind, empathetic, sensitive soul de novo. You have something very special of your own that you give to those around you.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Aww thank you for your sweet words Lulu. I don’t know how much credit I can take but I do what I can to nurture and cultivate her empathy, innocence, and kind heart. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you Miriam. That’s my hope. A lot of people tell me that I need to toughen her up but everything within me screams NOOO. It reminds me of a quote I read a while back “It’s not our job to toughen our children up to face a cruel and heartless world. It’s our job to raise children who will make the world a little less cruel and heartless.” – L.R. Knost. That’s exactly how I feel. It’s hard and we already deal with the effects of raising a kind child even in just 2nd grade but I have to go with my gut.

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

