Grateful Sunday|Grateful For My Authentic Self!

Growing up I remember having this incredible confidence. Not cockiness but just feeling really good about being myself. I liked who I was, what I stood for, and I was comfortable being myself in every aspect. As time went on and I went from adolescent to young woman, I became more self-conscious. I compared myself to others and started feeling inadequate. I started to falter in who I was and started becoming a version of myself that I didn’t recognize.

Over the past few years I’ve started becoming true to myself again. Getting in touch with who I really am and feeling comfortable expressing it. I’m pursing things that ignite my soul on fire, I’m opening up about who I really am, and I’m allowing myself to be true to who I am. This might sound strange but what I’m grateful for this week, is becoming my authentic self. Learning to let go of what others might think or how they’ll react. Not dimming myself down, not mimicking others, not compromising myself, but embracing who I am for my faults and my strengths and accepting it.

I’m still on my journey of discovering who I am but I’m enjoying the process! I’m thankful for all of you that have been so supportive along the way. I recently shared that I’m in touch with my intuition and that’s something that I’ve kept to myself and my inner most trusted circle. When I shared it I was overwhelmed with the positive way that it was received. That gave me such confidence to accept myself for who I am and to share it with others instead of hiding it. I felt like I came out of the spiritual closet and as worried and scared as I was, there was nothing to be afraid of. I no longer try to find ways to cover up or explain it away. I feel comfortable with that part of myself and see it as a wonderful tool that compliments me greatly on the journey I’m embarking on with Life Coaching and Reiki in the near future. I look forward to embracing who I am and going through life with the same sense of confidence I had in my younger years doused in humility and acceptance of who I am.


If you’re interested in guest posting contact me! I’m opening up my blog to include posts from other bloggers. It might be to grow your readers, get exposure to new bloggers, or write about something you might not normally write about. Whatever the reason, email me for more details if you’d like to guest post (nikissimplelife@gmail.com).

Synchronicity| https://therichnessofasimplelife.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/synchronicities/

You might enjoy this post where I share some recent synchronicities.

spring-tree-flowers-meadow-60006-large

Be sure to stop by the new Facebook community I’m building. This is picking up where the Kindness Challenge left off and is a place to share and celebrate the kind things around us!


Do you feel comfortable being your authentic self? Have you always felt that way? Are you also on a journey of accepting who you are and sharing it? What are your thoughts on this topic? I’d love to hear your story, feel free to share what you feel comfortable with in the comments!

37 thoughts on “Grateful Sunday|Grateful For My Authentic Self!

  1. One of the best feelings is to be comfortable in your own skin. It’s so great that you have that self acceptance, it shines through as confidence and a happiness that sometimes isn’t easy to achieve. Hope you’re having a great weekend Niki! ☀️🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. When I first began it was hard to realize I was going anywhere at all. In the beginning for me it was a celebration to be still at all because at least it meant I wasn’t going backwards. Maybe we can focus on gaining clarity when we meet and that might help. Sometimes you need to step back far enough to gain perspective 🙂

        Like

      2. My main approach is working out and appreciating where I am. Having clarity to think further I find hard as I struggle with clarity.
        Thank you Niki… I hope so too. You’re too kind 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s a great approach Simon! Accepting yourself where you are, that’s very mindful and surely a great way to reap lasting results. No worries, no one knows you better than you know yourself. I’m here to follow your lead and just hold the flashlight steady so you can find your way a little easier 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Hahaha it does seem that way! Thanks, good night as my day has now come to a close. The girls are sleeping giving me a nice environment to put the finishing touches on a few much needed new posts for the week 🙂 Have a great day Simon!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so excited you enjoyed it! I’m hopeful to get some interaction, I just published the page last Sunday so I’m sure it will get more active with time 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

