#Momlife Monday|No Room For Bullying

I know school is back in session for many kids across the country and if it hasn’t started they’re due to start soon. For many that means seeing old friends, making new ones, and the nerves and excitement of starting a new year in a new class or school. Some may not experience those same feelings of excitement and might actually dread going to school. For them, school isn’t a place they want to go and countdown the seconds until they can leave. Bullying is a major problem kids face at school that makes them feel scared, unprotected, singled out, unwanted and a myriad of other emotions and thoughts. No parent wants their child to feel this way.

When my daughter was in kindergarten, I went to an anti-bullying presentation at her K-6 school. I was hoping to receive information on the environment we could create to minimize bullying, foster a feeling of anti-bullying in the school, and take a positive proactive approach to addressing it. Instead, the presentation focused on understanding bullying and the bullies themselves, why people become bullies, and how to notice signs of bullying in your children. While the information was important, I left feeling very defeated; it offered treatments for side effects but not a solution to the root cause. It was as if there was no choice but to accept that kids would be bullies and just look for the signs of my child either being a bully or being bullied. I think over the years bullying has been identified and measures have been taken but it’s not enough to keep up with the ever changing dynamic of the world we live in.

In a world that focuses on drama, reality shows promoting degrading and nasty behavior, the news dishing negative story after negative story highlighting the most heinous atrocious stories to increase viewership; it’s no wonder why bullying is such a problem today. The more negative a situation is, the more attention it garners. If adults have a hard time redirecting their attention from something negative, how can we expect kids to do a better job in a real life situation?  Photos and videos shaming, teasing, and being purposely hurtful to others goes viral generating likes and comments in astronomical numbers meanwhile something sweet and wholesome pales in comparison. Kids are often exposed to gossip, crude jokes, sarcastic backhanded compliments, and snarky putdowns both online and in everyday life.  How then, can we expect our kids and young people to do better when presented with the opportunity?

I’d love to see examples of schools that focus on kindness. A place that celebrates the good, kind, and thoughtful things students and teachers do for one another. A place that focuses on promoting and celebrating kindness instead of one that is on the defensive side of bullying. A school that makes bullying feel out of place and uncomfortable because hurtful actions and words aren’t accepted, tolerated, encouraged or supported. A place that seeks to build each other up, looks to compliment, encourage and celebrate their peers and advisors. What if schools focused on promoting a sense of community, partnership, and kindness in addition to teaching curriculum? This isn’t to say there aren’t schools out there already doing this, I came across an example on social media just the other day. What I’m asking is, what if this were the norm?


Back toschool.png
Join the community focusing on kindness! This week’s prompt is about kindness at school ❤

 


What are your thoughts on this post? Has your child been bullied at school? Do you think your child’s school has a defensive approach to bullying? Does your child’s school actively foster a focus on kindness? Do you think it would make a difference if schools focused on kindness? How would you feel about your child attending a school that focused on kindness? What other approaches do you think would be helpful for schools to take to minimize bullying? I’d love to hear your thoughts and stories, please feel free to share in the comments!

13 thoughts on “#Momlife Monday|No Room For Bullying

  1. Fabulous post. As part of a pastoral team, bullying behaviour is something that happens through the school. We like to promote kindness and celebrate it as often as we can. I find that if you take a ‘bully’ under your wing and boost their self esteem that helps immensely to fill a void they may have. All behaviour is communicating a feeling of some kind – unkind behaviour says a lot about a child’s life experiences so far doesn’t it?

    Just thought you’d like to know, I’m continuing my #revofkindness when we return to school in September. We are building a team of ‘kindness spies’ to encourage children to celebrate and share acts of kindness. I’m so looking forward to it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree a lot of times it’s a cry for help which is why I think an environment promoting love and kindness would make it difficult for that behavior to thrive especially if it’s implemented early. Oh my gosh, that’s awesome!!!! Please post updates on Twitter if you can, I’d love to see how that goes!!! I plan to approach schools and work worth them to make this a school year focus they can easily incorporate. That’s so awesome! ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I think stopping this behavior should start at home, I have see children bullying their parents – I raised my children to have respect for all…but it is now the school’s job to stop it. My school has many wonderful ideas to enforce respect and stop bullying – Friday is brag day – we give out brag tags to those who do a kindness during the week…they wear them around their necks. We havent eliminated it but sure have decreased the number of bullies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, but I also realize that not all kids go home to homes that foster an environment of love and kindness and school might be the only example they have. That’s awesome that your school has such a positive focus!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! Munch experienced bullying last year and it totally caught me off guard. He’s attending a new school today and I’m hoping that is the policy. They have a new principal and assistant principal and I will be joining the PTA. I’m going to try to teach that process. One classroom at a time if I have too.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m sorry he experienced that. I love attentive and proactive you are! Random Acts of Kindness has ideas to implement kindness into every grade level, that might be a resource to check out. Wishing him a very kind and successful school year. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I was thinking about this today driving into work in a way, I was thinking about how we try and solve a negative problem by doing something or saying something negative as a response to this. I’m not sure you can.
    But you’re rights with social media too, I stay away from Facebook as it’s now a children’s playground of gossip, hate, spite and such – and that’s from adults. My life doesn’t need that kind of pollution.

    Like

  5. Yes! Promoting a culture of kindness in schools and living it out through action would drastically change social climates. I commend schools, communities, and families that strive for this.

    Thanks for sharing Niki! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

