Sweetheart Saturday|Sticking It Out

My husband and I were talking yesterday and as I reflect on that conversation, I can’t help but think how thankful I am. It’s in the darkest times that you get to see what someone is really made of.

Personally, I’m in the best place I’ve ever been in my life. I’m spiritually, mentally, emotionally, and physically healthy. I’m whole as an individual and fulfilled. Our marriage went through a really rough time many years ago when I was struggling with depression, postpartum depression, and back to depression again.

Now that we are in a phase that we can look back and see things clearly, I understand how strong and supportive he was. I’m thankful that he was there when I needed him in ways that I didn’t even realize or appreciate at the time. It would have been so much easier for him to say this isn’t what he signed up for and leave. He chose to stay and give me the time and space to get myself figured out. By doing so, our relationship has gotten stronger. I always knew that two whole people coming together to form a bond was a great foundation for a relationship. What I didn’t realize is that I was the one that was incomplete.

Now that I’ve put the time, work, and energy into becoming whole in every sense of the word every aspect of my life is coming into balance. While we’ve always had a good relationship, it would feel the pressure that I put on it. I didn’t see that at the time but now I’m able to look back and evaluate where we are and the changes that were made to get us here. By being complete, I’m able to bring the best of me into my marriage. I see things a different way and realize a lot of the issues that came up were due to me not taking responsibility and accountability for the emptiness within myself.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg
A photo for every year we’ve been together.

 

It’s been a 3-year journey of self-discovery, self-exploration, and self-love to get to where I am. I knew that it would benefit me to become a whole healthy being, what I didn’t expect was the magnitude at which it would impact every other aspect of my life. In a world where divorce is no longer banned or even frowned upon the way it once was and instant results are a way of life, I really admire my husband for taking his vows so seriously. For being so loving, supportive, and committed even when it would have been easy not to. Thank you for believing in me, thank you for sticking it out, thank you for being so dedicated. I’m so happy that we get to experience the calm after the storm and relish the beauty of life after depression together.

10 thoughts on “Sweetheart Saturday|Sticking It Out

  1. It’s not easy living with someone who is depressed but it’s important to realise that they need support. It’s great to hear that you had that support and I’m sure you’ve come out stronger as a couple for it ☺ Thanks for sharing, this made me smile. Have a lovely day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s really not. I can’t imagine what it must have been like for him. I was so engulfed in depression I didn’t see how it effected him. We are so much stronger because of it. Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment AJ. Have a wonderful weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel like I can relate to this a lot, this is a great piece. After my son was born, I struggled with some depression issues as well. We moved to a new state immediately after and felt very isolated. Our relationship instantly changed and I didn’t know how to cope with it. We have been married two years now and I think we are still figuring out how to make it worth as it should, but the important thing is that neither of us have given up. And, just like you said about your husband, mine could have left when I was going through my issues. We were not married yet, he definitely could have taken a different route, but he stayed and worked through it with me. Sometimes I forget that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s a lot going on postpartum, couple that with the stress and changes of a move and it’s the recipe for a not so great situation. The process is different for everyone but it sounds like you have a great factor which is a supportive partner. I encourage you to start your day off focusing one one thing you’re grateful for about your husband and one thing you love about yourself. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

