#Momlife Monday|Quality Time

I know we live in a world that glorifies busy and thinks multi-tasking is a badge of honor. When it comes to parenting, neither of these are brag worthy. Being overly busy means that I’m probably stretching myself too thin, not meeting my needs properly, and cultivating an environment that produces stress. Multi-tasking is a fancy way of describing that I’m not in the moment and not giving something my full attention.

Of course we have responsibilities and commitments, but how many times do we overextend ourselves? How many commitments do we have that aren’t necessary? How many things do we spend time doing that don’t create value in our lives? How many times are we doing something while our kids talk to us? How many times do we “umm hmm” without really hearing what they said? How often is our attention diverted even when we’re in the same room?

Today I wanted to challenge you to make some adjustments to create more quality time with your children. The funny thing about true quality time is it’s not the amount of time spent doing something, it’s the amount of attention put into it. It actually doesn’t take as much time as you’d think and the key is to focus your attention on your kids without any distractions. It seems obvious but I’ve been guilty of half listening or mistaking my physical presence for being there. Here are some ways to make the most of the time that you spend with your kids to strengthen the bond you have, help them feel valued, and show them they’re a priority. Be sure to put your phone on silence and enjoy the moment!

  • Play hide and go seek for 15 minutes after dinner
  • Build a fort and have breakfast in it on Saturday morning
  • Play “I spy” on the drive to the grocery store
  • Use an unused area to put together a jigsaw puzzle
  • Have family game night before dinner (even a quick round of Uno, Tic Tac Toe, or Hangman)
  • Go to the park and play Red Light, Green Light
  • Have a hot chocolate story time before bed as a family
  • Play your child’s favorite game before homework
  • Have a dance party after dinner and clean up as a family listening to your favorite music
  • Have a dance competition in the living room
  • Find a fun science experiment to do together over several weeks
  • Bake cookies together and deliver them to neighbors with a note

There are tons of ways to spend quality time together that don’t actually take that much time. The trick is to focus your attention on your kids and do something fun! No one knows your kids or family dynamics better than you! While I’m happy to offer suggestions, I’m sure that with a little thought you’ll be able to come up with the perfect ways to spend quality time with your family throughout the week!


How much quality time do you usually spend with your family each day? Do you have any activities you’d like to share with other parents? What are your thoughts on this post? I’d love to hear what you have to say, feel free to share in the comments!

Do you have anything you’d like to see in a #momlife post? Leave your suggestion in the comments and I’ll try to incorporate it in a future post!

Momlife

 

 

Click the photo to browse previous #momlife posts!

5 thoughts on “#Momlife Monday|Quality Time

    1. I just tried to come up with things off of the top of my head, the majority of them are things that we’ve done. Play is the language of children, the more we play the more we engage with them and relate to them. As we get older the way we play changes but I think play is always necessary. My girls especially like to play hide and go seek before bed, we get lots of laughs in and have a great time. You’re not too old to play!! 🙂

      Like

    1. That’s awesome!! I’m with my girls a lot because I’m a work from home parent but just because I’m home with them doesn’t mean that’s time spent with them. They play together, I cook and tend to the house, help with homework. I do know that playing is the language of children so I make sure to play south them almost every day even if it’s only for half an hour.

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

