Urban Gardening

I’ve been in love with the idea of gardening for a while. In an attempt to live a more healthy lifestyle and reduce (eventually eliminate) our consumption of processed foods, I’d like to start a small garden. I think it will be fun to get the kids involved. They really enjoy a meal when they help me prepare it so I’m hopeful starting a small garden will help them embrace a more health conscious lifestyle.

4551510221_8a85d19edf_z
How cute is this?! Can’t wait to start my own little herb garden!

I’m looking into ideas for starting an organic urban garden on my tiny balcony. I’m also thinking of having my husband help me make a window box to plant some container friendly veggies in our long living room windowsill. As for the kitchen, it will be the perfect place for my long desired herb garden! I’ve taken to Pinterest for many inspirations but I wanted to reach out to those of you in my community to see if you have any tips, tricks, or suggestions. I know several of you have been gardening for a while and have a lot of experience. All ideas and suggestions are welcome! Feel free to check out my current ideas here. Don’t let the cascading window boxes fool you, I do want to grow edible plants but I can’t help but pin those breathtaking flowers!


I’d love to hear about your garden! Feel free to leave links to posts or pictures in the comments. What are your favorite urban garden plants, veggies, and herbs? Do you have any tips or tricks you’ve learned?

Photo credit
25 thoughts on “Urban Gardening

    1. I’ve seen tomato vines on people’s balconies and heard they aren’t terribly difficult to grow. I’m always pinning ideas but now I need to put the action into that plan. How fulfilling would it be to make a salad with homegrown veggies?! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi! I have an apartment home and small deck area and would love to start gardening too! A resource I read and reviewed that may help is”Small Space Vegetable Gardens” by Andrea Bellamy. A true gem! Hope this helps!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I started a small window garden last season. I literally got some seeds of different herbs, pepper and tomatoes and planted them in separate pots. Everything grew…. then I didn’t maintain it. My next goal is wheat grass!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh! I could see myself doing that, I’m hopeful that I’ll tend to it. I got some tiny plants about 6 months ago and they are all still alive and thriving (first time I’ve been able to maintain them that long) so I think that’s gotten my confidence up. I’ll probably start off with some herbs, wheat grass is a great idea! I hadn’t thought of that, great health benefits. Thanks or sharing ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE fresh herbs and veggies, but I struggle with my attention span, saddly. Lol. I find that since I set up grow lights in the house for my starts, I lose less plants to neglect because I forgot to check on them. I see that purple glow and remember, “these living things are counting on me”. My “starts” has now expanded to include some things that just don’t grow as well outside here, so the purple reminder glow is always there for me. But this only works if you have a small space somewhere that you are ok with turning purple.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I know what you mean! I’m surprised my flowers on the balcony have lasted almost a year! I love the idea of a fresh garden. Have yet to start mine but I’m closer than I was when I wrote this 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m an avid urban gardener too! Although, I have quite a bit of space to no longer rely on containers for planting.
    I moved into my new home in June, so I still have plenty of work to do in the garden, but in the meantime, I’ve stuck most of my easy growing veggies between the existing ornamental shrubs. Spinach and tomatoes are thriving! Beetroot too.
    For container planting, I find that leafy veggies grow really easily. Spinach, chard, salad leaves. For other yummy goodies, like tomatoes, a container about 40cm deel should work nicely.
    Good luck! 🌱

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think the key to getting off of processed foods is preserving your harvest. It is probably the biggest job I do with my garden but the most rewarding in the winter! Try dehydrating kale or herbs and freezing tomatoes for soups and stews to start. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

