Are You A Drive-by Reader?

You know if you’re a drive-by reader if you click on a post and press the back button when you’re done to go back to the Reader.

There’s nothing wrong with that, I’m just interested to hear about your experience as a reader. Do you prefer to read and head back to the Reader to see what else there is?  Do you read from an app on a mobile device or on a computer? Do you like to browse around, look at the decor, and get a feel for the blogger? Do you like to click through pages and see where they take you? Are you inclined to read through other posts if you find one that you like? Do you take your time and appreciate the time and energy the blogger put into it?


Whew! That was a lot of questions! Feel free to answer the ones you want or just leave your experience as a reader in the comments! 

For blogging tips and tutorials, click on the photo below to browse posts created especially for newbie bloggers-

blogging

 

 

17 thoughts on “Are You A Drive-by Reader?

  1. it’s so funny, that I stumble on this because I’m so guilty of being a drive by reader! I usually read the beginning of the blog post and if it interests me, I will click to get a whole feel of the blog and if not I keep scrolling ! πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It totally depends on the very first post I click upon. If I was stimulated by the read, if it provoked a thought that I wished to share I will happily spend the next hour going from post to post and page to page. if on the other hand, I have a “duh” moment or just wasn’t inspired to even think about the post I use that quick back button to escape to something interesting. I wouldn’t know one of those hand held semi-computer phone things if it bit me on the nose. I use my handy dandy ancient PC.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I think I am one of those all-of-the-above readers. Sometimes I will click on the post button, read a little then go back to the reader on to the next. That one I may skip over or make a mental note for later or I might visit and read the whole thing. It isn’t always about the quality of the post/blog or who the blogger is. It can be my state of mind or body. If I am in a pain flare or an anxiety attack I might go all over the place with no rhyme or reason. Or, I might be having a sleepless night and I am reading to keep my mind busy so it might just get tired enough. In those times I will find a few select blogs and give them a lot of love and attention – looking at other posts on the same blog, reading comments and finding new blogs to check out. I would love to give each and every post/blog I see the TLC it deserves because no matter what it was someone’s “baby” and of course I would like the same respect for my treasures.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I hear ya Lydia. I know the blogs I follow pretty well. Of the ones I do, the same handful post regularly so I usually read their posts from the Reader. Every now and then I like to jump onto their blog and see what’s changed or what I’ve missed. Once I read the posts that caught my eye in the Reader, I do a tag search and go on a hunt of blogs that interest me based on the tag I’m in the mood for reading. I find new to me bloggers and am inclined to check out the blogs of the posts that get my attention. At the end of they day they are someone’s baby so I try to be mindful of that and like or comment when appropriate to show them some love. Thanks for sharing Lydia.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I try to comment where I can. More often than not, either the subject is not interesting to me or I don’t really have anything interesting to say. Sometimes I do, and I’ll contribute a comment or two. I don’t get as much time as I’d like to read blogs, so I miss a lot, but I’m always excited when something strikes my interest and I’m able to add a few cents to the conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really big on using tags to search. There’s so much great stuff out there and by searching for something that interests me in the moment, I’m more likely to find a new blog to follow. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I like to comment on at least 1 blog and read it all. Yes ave been guilty of drive-by, as a reader i quickly scan for great content, then indulge further to the point of a comment like this one. I definitely appreciate the time it takes to pen a good blog, some folk can tap into the collective consciousness and it appears effortless, the words just flow, however for others myself included at times (mostly), the words /thoughts take a while to travel from the brain to the finger tips. All in all its enjoyable. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing. I just like to see how other people’s readership experience is as well as have them ponder that so they can think of the experience they give their readers πŸ™‚ Nice to meet you.

      Like

  6. The reader can be kind of overwhelming! Because of that I’m guilty of drive by reading (love the name by the way πŸ˜‚)
    Once I’ve had some time to sift through different categories and find something that’s interesting I’ll give it a read and check out other posts. I’m usually on my phone, but when I’m on my computer I’m more likely to comment and read more posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear ya. I follow a few sites that post on their blog hourly so I usually search tags so I can read whatever I’m in the mood for. Thanks, I couldn’t think of a better technical term πŸ˜‰ I find it easier to read on my laptop as well.

      Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

