Could Likes Be The Currency of the Future?

I just started watching this show on Netflix that much to my surprise got my wheels spinning. One particular episode was a look into the future and instead of money, the drive, focus, and currency of the society were ratings based on stars. When buying coffee for example you’d rate someone from one to five stars. You’d rate your experience and interaction with that person. It was deeper than a simple like. As the episode unfolded you began to see people uploading photos to their social media for ratings These ratings determined what area they lived in, what house they qualified for, and what status they held. It might seem far fetched but it wouldn’t be the first time life imitated fiction.

I have to admit a few years ago I had to take a break from social media. My self-esteem was in the dumps and my mental health wasn’t in a place that it could handle the version of reality I was exposed to online. I saw everyone around me living a perfect life and I thought I was the only one that didn’t live this Pleasantville reality everyone else did. As I watched that episode I realized how relieved I was that I let go of trying to live up to that version of reality. I don’t compromise who I am, what I want, or what I like for the sake of fitting in. I don’t post things on my blog or social media for the sake of receiving likes. Of course, I seek exposure to a certain extent otherwise, I wouldn’t blog but it’s not for the sake of getting attention, fitting in, or being liked.

After watching that specific episode it made me wonder how far off we are from that fiction becoming reality. Do you think likes could become a form of currency? Do you think it already has to some extent? Have you ever compromised who you are for the sake of fitting in or being liked? Do you play into the social media game of showing off your best side? Do you find yourself missing out on the moment in search of the perfect photo to post? Do you crop out pieces of reality for the sake of creating the picture perfect moment? I know what it’s like, I was there once. It was exhausting! I’m much more at peace and happy now that I’ve accepted myself for who I am and engage online with the intention of connecting and sharing instead of keeping up (or showing off).


Have you seen Black Mirror on Netflix? What are your thoughts on this topic? Can you relate? Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments ❤

empowerment

Funny enough, this reminds me of a topic I wrote about on my business site. If you didn’t read about comparing yourself to others less check it out by clicking on the photo.


blog-love-thought-provoking-thursday

To explore other Thought-Provoking posts, click the photo.

14 thoughts on “Could Likes Be The Currency of the Future?

  1. Hi your post makes me tick, wonder, ask myself questions. I would say I probably don’t buy into it I dont expose myself i don’t think. But i thought some more, i hate having my photo taken so I don’t often have a quick snap of me i worry how I’ll be seen and judged ( older uglier fatter) That is why I cose to put my cross patch photo on here. If you look you will see. I was hungry wet and tired we’d been travelling in an open top car for ten hours, i put all the clothes i could get on… on. To over exagerate the point. I’m cold I’ve had enough. My husband laughed and took what he calls my bag lady picture, vwalla!
    So i don’t think i buy into what you talk about but more my own feelings on how i look, insecurities. Family abroad is what keeps me on fb. Even then i usually like what they post or ignore it. This is a good post but i don’t do much tv so can’t give an opinion.🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Really a very revealing article.. it’s so true about how we perceive ourselves .. online..
    showing off only the nice things and nicest looks..

    It’s so easy to reflect ourselves as how we wish we were..

    But niki.. you are so right about it all..

    Thanks for putting it out there..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You had me at Netflix.. I am a binge watcher myself.. this one I have never seen, mentally it has already went to my que of what to watch.. You have such a great point here though… I have had to cut myself off all good things time to time, social media, binge watching, coffee, wine.. and yes chocolate when I have realized those pants are not fitting quite right.. I have to set boundaries for myself.. I love your post so true of how we compare… Thx for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t remember the last time I watched regular tv. I don’t watch as much tv as I used to but when I do, it’s Netflix. You should give it a try. I want sure if I’d like out because I’m not a sci-fi lover but I thought I’d give it a try based on the synopsis. It’s only 11 episodes but each one is a stand alone with a great message. All good things in moderation 🙂

      Like

  4. There’s so much truth in your post Niki. I think all of us at some point have been there and influenced by the whole comparing bit on fb. I try and take a back step from it these days. What you see on there is only what people want you to see. BTW my 15yo very deep and analytical son loves Black Mirror. He says it’s the most thought provoking show around.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I struggled with social media for a while, self-imposed obviously. Now that I’m more emotionally and mentally healthy I see it in a different way. I celebrate the things others post and pray for them and send them love on my end when I know reality doesn’t match the photos they post. I’m in a place that I’m secure with who I am and the life I have. I can genuinely be happy for others without thinking my happiness should look like theirs. I’d have to agree with your son. For some reason season 3 played first instead of season 1 when I opened it up. The episode described in this post is the first episode of season 3. I was hooked after that. Since they’re all stand alone episodes it doesn’t matter what order you watch them in. I flew through those 11 episodes. Hmmm might be a great show to pick apart if your son is up for rewatching them with you 🙂 Have a great day Miriam! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Niki and yeah I think it might be a great show to discover and watch. I think he’s seen every single episode though I don’t think he’d mind watching them again. He always has such thought provoking questions after each one, it has me intrigued . 😊 Hope you have a great day too Niki.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I used to spend more time checking my face book account . Until I realized that, building my real life was more important than live the facebook life of other people. A picture is just a picture it doesn’t show you the reality.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed! I love taking pictures and capturing memories. I love how simple it is to take pictures these days. I’m not sure when social media turned into a massive perfect life parade. I’m not interested in that aspect. I’ve seen too many people miss out on life trying to capture the perfect picture. I’d rather live in the moment and capture a picture to look back on. Not everything I do needs to be posted on social media. The funny thing about pictures is they show what someone wants you to see…

      Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

