Birthday Presents & Expos

Next Friday is the expo for the photography course I complete tonight. I’m so nervous and excited! I can’t believe it’s already been 10 weeks since I started the course! It’s amazing to see how far I’ve come in just a couple of months. I went in with a second-hand Nikon D3000 that I had never used and am now able to use it on manual mode with no fear.

I have a long way to go in many aspects (especially composition) but I’m having such a great time learning and practicing!

I could tell that I needed to upgrade my gear when we would take test shots in class. Even using the same parameters as my peers, my photos didn’t have the same lighting as theirs. I wanted to get a new camera but decided against it. I was using that as an excuse as to why my photos weren’t as good.

wp-1481060889962.jpg
Gahhhh! Bye bye 18-55mm…Hello 70-300mm! ❀

In the end, my mom got me a new lens for my birthday and I’m in love with it! I’ve used it once and I can already see the difference in the quality of my photos with my new 70-300mm lens. My husband is signing me up for the advanced photography course that begins in January. I think between those two birthday gifts and lots of practice that should be enough to help me master the camera I have. Once I outgrow it or am able to make money with it, then I’ll consider upgrading the body. For now, I’m happy with my new gear for my new to me camera. I’ll leave you with a sneak peek of a picture I’m considering for the expo next week.

#5.jpg
One of my top contenders for the expo… I’ll let you know in a future post if this makes the cut!

 


What are your thoughts on this photo? If you have a camera, what model do you have and what’s your favorite lens to use?

18 thoughts on “Birthday Presents & Expos

    1. Thank goodness you can tell it’s a bird…I didn’t realize it was turned away from the camera in that shot. Thank you, that’s my favorite technique, I can’t get enough of that shallow depth out field look. I appreciate your feedback ❀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you ❀ I don't think you have to be a photographer to give feedback. We all know what we like, I appreciate feedback from both photographers and non alike. Thanks for taking the time to comment. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! In the end, I’ve discarded that shot. I love it and it will be printed and hung in her room however I don’t feel it’s the best representation of my work. So I’ve gone with 2 other shots for the expo that I think are better quality for showcasing purposes. This shot is one of my favorites however and technicalities and rules aside, I absolutely love it as a mom and aspiring photographer πŸ™‚ I’ll share the final two next week πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

