Love & Accept

This is a time of year that many people put more focus into their physical appearance than they might normally. With New Year’s having just passed, resolutions are heavily on their minds. I’ve tried resolutions tied to my weight in the past but this year I’m doing something different. Instead of pledging to lose a certain amount of weight or trying to fit into a certain size by the summer, I’m going to continue to love and embrace myself. 

I’ve been on a journey of immense self-love for the past few years and it has made such a difference. I find it much more empowering to love myself curves, cellulite, and all than to focus on my flaws every time I look in the mirror. Instead of wishing I were thinner, more toned, or had my pre-office body, I’m thankful for the healthy body I’m in. It might be a little more cushioned than it once was but all of my limbs work, all of my systems function, and I’m in good health.

I’m going to continue to focus on how lucky I am to have the body I do. I’m going to take care of my body because it’s the only one I have. I can’t trade it in or upgrade it. The only thing I can do is take better care of myself. I’d like to encourage you to do the same. Think of three things that you’re grateful for about your body and take steps to promote self-love, self-acceptance, and health.


What are your thoughts on this? Will you commit to loving and accepting your body as you take steps to get to where you want to be? Happy Friday ❤

5 thoughts on “Love & Accept

  1. Yes, love this! It takes a lot of effort to learn to love yourself. I still work on it every day. Glad you’ve learned to be thankful for your health. I like this quote: “If the world was blind, how many people would you impress?”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I so love this, I love my body just the way it is, yes I got some folds, cellulite yes and that doesn’t change who I am. If every single person loved their body the world would be a better place. So many persons have died of starvation, some go as far as doing surgeries and the like, but self love, body love is just amazing. In the light of this, it’s also safe to respect and take care of our bodies. So many people take body love or self love as a forum to be unhealthy and shout at the top of their voices “I love myself this way”. Thanks for this piece mehn.

    Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

