Yoga, Accountability, & Mantras

My daughter and I get up about half an hour early each day to do yoga before she gets ready for school. I love to start our day off this way. She’s a typical 8-year-old with lots of energy but she also tends to be an overthinker.Yoga is the perfect way to get her body moving but teach her to slow her mind. In the beginning, she struggled because she’s more into the fast-paced activities but in time she learned the importance of being able to slow your mind and connect it with your body and soul.

We recently followed along with a video that was dedicated to opening your heart space. I found this video incredibly powerful. It’s become one of our favorite ways to start our day. It gets her in a really good mood and starts her day on the right foot. I also like to incorporate a mantra into her yoga practice to take with her throughout the day. I either look for one or make one for her. This past week she worked with “I am in control” and she finished off the sentence. I’ve found that she has a tendency to pass the blame on to others. She seldom accepts responsibility and that lead to a discussion about accountability. We had a conversation at length as she got ready for school and as she left with her dad to go to school, I reminded her to use her mantra.

When she got home from school that day, she told me of the situation in which she used her mantra. She was able to reframe the way she saw the situation and the way she handled it. She was surprised as to how her reaction made the situation go more smoothly than what it would have otherwise. She felt more confident and realized that being accountable wasn’t a bad thing. I explained to her that we all make mistakes or just bad decisions sometimes and it’s important to be accountable for our actions and words. I’m so glad that she’s learning this at such a young age, it will help her be the best version of herself.


How do you teach your kids accountability? What are your thoughts on this post? Feel free to share in the comments. 

sign-up

Have you signed up for The Kindness Challenge yet? It’s a great way to get the whole family focused on kindness. Click the photo for more details!

16 thoughts on “Yoga, Accountability, & Mantras

    1. Thank you. As a women’s worthiness coach, I not only see but have personally experienced what it’s like when your self-worth isn’t where it needs to be. I’m trying to raise my girls to be confident and secure in themselves. This is one of the best ways I’ve found for my girls. Even my 2 year old loves it! 🙂 Thank you for your kind words, I really appreciate it ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  1. All too often, we blame others for something we are responsible for. Glad you are teaching such important matters to your daughter at this age.
    That’s also my issue – I’m more into fast-paced activities, so doing yoga and slowing down are actually challenges for me.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know from experience, so I’m doing the best I can to teach her. I didn’t like yoga when I first started but I found that the connection of mind and body and the way yoga encourages me to slow down in life creates space for wonderful things ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I have a hard time with yoga as well because I too am an over thinker! I am trying again. I really want to learn to slow down. I love that you start your day with your daughter and yoga. What a beautiful bonding experience.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I encourage you to start off slowly. If all you can handle is 10 minutes at first so be it. Focus on nailing the pose to help guide your mind to something other than what’s running through it. If you don’t already, I suggest following along to Yoga with Adrienne on YouTube. She’s very relaxed and knows how to make yoga easier for beginners to get into. You can do it, just go with the flow. When you’ve had enough, stop and be proud of how long you were capable of that day. I’m sure you’ll find yourself laying longer over a period of a few weeks. 💖

      Like

  3. Oh my goodness! This is a terrific suggestion. I too have a very thoughtful 8 year old. She loves to do yoga with me but my two boys tend to ruin the ambiance for yoga practice. 🙂 Thank you for this idea and your insights into helping guide her through her tendency to overthink things. I usually encourage her to write, or when I can tell she is really distraught, I make one-on-one cooking time. Cooking feeds the soul and the tummy.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m glad you can use it as well! If there’s a time that the two of you can just do it together, I’m sure it will enhance the experience. We get up before her sister who climbs all over me and makes it harder to get through without laughing the practice away- which isn’t a bad thing 🙂

      We also light some candles since it’s dark in the mornings and that helps set the serene ambiance as well- she loves it!

      I’d love to hear back and see how she enjoys it. I love the way yoga goes with you off the mat. It’s really amazing to see her use the principles and mantras in her day.

      I know what you mean, I love to cook and my daughters love to join me in the kitchen. We pretend like we’re on a cooking show and she narrates the experience 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

