Chances, Courage & Children’s Wisdom

Yesterday I took a chance on myself. I was presented with an opportunity that had a 99.99% chance of not working out for me, but I wouldn’t know with 100% certainty if I didn’t try. While the 99.99% proved to be right, something bigger happened. I leaned into courage and went for it in spite of my fear, doubt, and the probability of rejection. The result was nothing short of amazing! I was a little disappointed the opportunity didn’t work out but I was so proud that I went for it! I went in with all that I had and without letting the odds against me get me down (had you seen me you really would have thought I stood a chance!). 

In the morning, I journaled about my experience. I reflected on it as a whole as well as the things I learned about myself. When my daughter got home from school, she was all excited to hear about how it went. I told her that it didn’t work out but that I did my best and faced my fears. She was so proud of me and it was funny to see her saying something I would probably tell her if roles were reversed. She told me,

“Mommy, I’m so proud of you. You were brave, you did something that scared you and was really hard. Even though you didn’t get it, the next time you have to do something hard you won’t be so scared because you’ll remember how brave you were today.”

I couldn’t help but laugh as I gave her a big hug because she basically summed up the reflection of my experience. While I didn’t secure the opportunity I was aiming for, I learned many things about myself last night. I stayed true to myself, gave it all that I had, and showed up authentically. A funny thing happened, that opportunity lead to some other unexpected opportunities that have higher probabilities of working out!

I just want to encourage you to practice courage. Whether it’s speaking your truth, making a choice based on what you want instead of what others will think, trying something new, applying for a new job, moving to another area, switching majors, sharing your art or talent, whatever it is that you want to do but hold back because it scares you; I encourage you to practice being courageous! I love to use that instead of fearless because I can’t think of a time I’ve done something that was new or different that I didn’t have some level of fear. So instead of waiting until you’re ready, until you’re confident, until someone else does it, until you have more money, until you’re older, or whatever you can come up with, do it now that you have the chance.


When’s the last time you practiced courage? Is there something holding you back that you can choose to move forward courageously anyway? Did you need to hear this today? Feel free to share in the comments! 

8 thoughts on “Chances, Courage & Children’s Wisdom

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

