Authenticity

You’d think being yourself would be the easiest thing in the world. Yet for so many years I struggled to know who I was. After those awkward teenage years of wanting to fit in yet be an individual came those early adulthood years. I got married pretty young and it wasn’t long before I lost my sense of self. Honestly, I’m not sure I had ever really found it up until that point.

It’s only been in the past few years that I’ve been able to discover who I am. I realized while there were many labels used to describe me, none of them defined me. I mean I’m not my job, what I accomplish, or what I do. I went on a journey of self-discovery and connected with myself in a way like never before. While I have many roles in my life including wife, mom, and daughter, those are only parts of who I am. I’m finally a complete individual independent of the roles in my life.

I’ve discovered passions, allowed myself to dream, and picked up new hobbies. I quit my job years ago and created a business that fit perfectly into my life. I express myself through various forms of art and realized I do like clothes I just can’t find the ones I like in most stores. I love raw crystal jewelry (and costume jewelry). I follow my heart over my head. I’m not afraid to be different, nerdy, or weird. I’m empathetic and consider vulnerability a strength. I strive to live a courageous life by taking opportunities even especially when they scare me. I love to learn and am always reading, watching, or listening to something that will challenge me to be better than I was yesterday. I choose to live a kind and humble life reveling in the simple pleasures.

I’ve finally accepted who I am and love myself with all of my heart. It’s from this place of self-love and acceptance that I was able to connect with myself and discover what made me who I am. I’m no longer afraid to show up authentically in my life no matter who I’m around. I haven’t felt this authentic since I was a child! You know, that 5-year-old sense of authenticity where they can go to the store in cowboy boots, a tutu, tank top, party hat, and tiara on and not think anything is out of the ordinary. I’m probably just a step away from that; I’m at the 7-year-old stage of authenticity but I’m working my way down to rock that tutu tiara combo in public if I want to!


Are you expressing your authentic self? Does your authenticity shine no matter where you are or who’s around? Can you relate to this post? Feel free to share in the comments!

For those of you that don’t know what the A-Z Challenge is, it’s a post a day for the month of April working your way through the alphabet. It’s a great way to connect with bloggers and get more exposure to your blog so if you haven’t joined, it’s the perfect time to sign up!

social media (1)Check out my business site with tips to connect with your authentic self! Click the photo to be redirected.

67 thoughts on “Authenticity

  1. Hello #AtoZChallenge Blogger… I had trouble getting my link up this morning. Maybe you could tell me how to do that. Love your Authenticity Blog post. Love this challenge ❤ I did it last year, I think it's a bit confusing this year or maybe I'm just getting old ❤ Blessings and good luck with the Challenge, I'll be reading ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Scarlett!! So nice to see you! It’s been a while! I’m trying to recall if you participated in The Kindness Challenge last year or if it was through the A-Z that we connected last year…

      Copy a link to your “A” post and paste it in the comments of this post on the official A-Z Challenge page-

      http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/2017/03/atozchallenge-4-1-2017-letter-a.html

      It’s different this year so it will take us a bit to get in the swing of things but I’m sure we’ll all figure it out together ❤

      Like

    1. Thanks! I custom make all of my header images 🙂 I’d be happy to make you one if you want a generic one to use for the whole challenge. I’m not making one for each letter, I’ll just use that throughout the challenge 😉

      Like

      1. Ok let me see what I can do. Can you give me your email so I can send you the image? If you want me to delete your comment once I see it to remove your email, just let me know.

        Like

      2. First save the ones you like to your computer.

        Then either go to a new post and click the icon to upload a photo or go to the “WP Admin” -> Media -> Add New

        From there you can upload the images and then use for your next post 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You have made this challenge so much easier and it’s going to look like I really know what I’m doing…The kids are going to be so impressed, but shhhh it’s going to be our secret. Love ya ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Great job !!! And I even figured out how to get it to my media library in WordPress…I love it when I figure this techy stuff out. Thank you so much for the cool image…Again, Blessings ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great first entry, Niki! But I always enjoy your posts 🙂 I think many of us go through that part of life where we loose ourselves. I know I did. Completely lost my sense identity at times. But I think we are always evolving and changing and as the years roll on we uncover more about what our authentic self is. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kim 🙂 It happens, I think the key is to learn how to reconnect with ourselves. I agree, we are always changing and even that makes it important to learn to look within so we can stay true to who we are as we evolve 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That was an amazing post. Sometimes the struggle is immensely difficult when being true to yourself and not worrying about what others think. I loved reading this. You are amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Yes, it took me learning to love and accept myself completely to get to that point. Of course I still care about what others think but not to the point that I’m not true to myself because of it… Have a wonderful rest of your weekend ❤

      Like

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I love how confident kids are when they’re at that age that they aren’t aware of judgment or limitations. That’s one things my kids show me regularly and I want to be more like them! 🙂 Have a great rest of your weekend ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I created it because I’m not sure there’s any other quite like it which made me feel odd at first but now I wouldn’t have it any other way! Have a great rest of your weekend, Pamela ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

