Creativity, Curiosity & Children

One of the greatest lessons I’ve learned as a mom is that my kids have just as much to teach me as have to teach them. My children often remind me to look at the world through the eyes of a child. I love how curious children are. They look at the world with a sense of wonder and amazement. They ask a lot of questions and want to learn, explore, and experience everything around them. I also love how creative children are. Kids are great problem-solvers. They can often come up with solutions to problems because they aren’t caught up with details, technicalities or limitations.

“Children see magic because they look for it.”

-Christopher Moore

Today I want to challenge you to take a child-like approach to problem-solving. Whether at work, in your personal life, or finding solutions for social issues, taking a child’s approach might be helpful. This can help you focus more on result-oriented solutions. You might be surprised with the number of ideas you’re able to brainstorm. From there, you can expand upon the ideas and come up with ways they can be implemented. I found that as a child brainstorming was very easy, I’d just write down all of the ideas that came to me. As an adult, I became more selective and critical. I’ve reverted back to my child-like sense of creativity and ideas are able to flow more easily. The far-fetched ideas are often the most helpful because even if they aren’t the answer, they usually lead to the path the solution is on.


Do you still use your child-like sense of creativity? Do you think it would be helpful to make room for it in your life? What are your thoughts? Feel free to share in the comments.Β 

This is my entry for the A-Z Challenge I’m participating in. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a challenge where blogger’s post their way through the alphabet a letter each day through the month of April. For more details, visit the A-Z Challenge website or their WordPress site.

I’m hosting the second annual Kindness Challenge in May. Click the infographic below to sign up!

2017-kindness-challenge-details

29 thoughts on “Creativity, Curiosity & Children

  1. one of the funniest truths my son shared with me came once at our first home when we were burning some brush in our yard. He knew what I was doing and tagged along. When we drew near he asked “Dad are you going to put fire on it?” I had never really thought about it, but in actuality that is the process.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Mine are nearly 22 (son) and 19 (daughter). Their insights are completely different now that they have both been away at the university where I gained my degree. Not bad insights or counter to what we taught as they grew up, just informed in a broader sense.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow! They’re in an entirely different phase of life. I’m sure that leads to interesting conversations and insights as well. Sounds like you’re a very proud dad πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Can’t agree more with you on this Niki. Children have a magical ability to think differently, which is so creative and amazing…..Somehow in the process of growing up , we lose that ability. Your post is a good reminder Niki! Thanks πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have raised 4 amazingly beautiful people. I also have an angel above looking out for his family. My grown children are wise beyond their years and give me such good advice. I loved raising my family and watching the world through the eyes of a child. Their world was easy and safe and everything always worked out. Don’t worry mom, everything will be fine. If I had a nickel for every time they told me that I would be a wealthy woman. As they grew older their advice got deeper. One of my kids told me that I let people live rent free in my head. They are all just great human beings and I am proud to have been their mom. One of the best quotes one of my son’s gave me was, “Fate whisper’s to the warrior, you cannot withstand the storm, and the warrior whisper’s back, I am the storm.” He’s the reader of my bunch. My kids really have made me the mother I am and I love them to the moon. I’ll be taking part in your kindness challenge. Blessings ❀ and good luck with the #atozchallenge ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds like you’re wealthy in a different sense of the word ❀ I love that quote!

      So happy to have you in the challenge again this year! I look forward to where it takes you.

      Have a great rest of your day πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is the issue with us adults and in our quest as perfect problem-solvers, we tend to be near perfect. Nothing beats the inquisitiveness of a child and the keen eye in detail minus prejudice. I am with you on that and would love to stay as a child forever. The moment we lose it, we are done in this drab of routine that takes the freshness out of our mind.

    Liked by 2 people

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

