Depression & Dreams

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll know that I used to struggle with depression. For those of you that don’t know, I’m publishing a book that will be released at the end of the month detailing the process I used to conquer a 17-year battle with depression. Something I’ve enjoyed doing since I overcame the battle is dreaming. It’s something I stopped doing as the battle with depression waged on. In recent years, I’ve given myself permission not only to dream but to chase those dreams.

For many years I struggled to make it through the day. I didn’t live with any hopes, dreams, or plans for the future. Today my dreams are what fuel me. I dream so big the thought of them scare me in a good way. I’m living life today in a way I didn’t think I was capable of 5 years ago. I’m so thankful I found my way out of the place I was in. It’s now my mission to empower others and spread as much light, love, and kindness in the world as possible.

17819852_10155189881839269_541681106_o.png

In the photo in 2010 I see a young woman who was lost and insecure that hid that behind a tough exterior and overinflated confidence. Behind my coy smile in 2013, I was struggling to keep myself together and thought I wasn’t good enough in any aspect of my life. In 2017 I recognize the woman I am today. The woman who embraced who she is, owns her story, accepts herself, and isn’t afraid to be herself no matter who she’s around. The woman who takes steps each day to be courageous, works to be her best self every day, and strives to encourage and empower others. This woman lives the fulfilling, joyful, and abundant life the version of her in 2010 didn’t know was possible.

I just wanted to encourage you today not to let your temporary circumstances determine your future. Don’t let your current troubles deter you from giving it your all tomorrow. Don’t let who you are today impede your growth.  I challenge you to write down a dream that you’ve had stored deep within you that you haven’t voiced in a long time. I also challenge you to either expand on that dream and make it even bigger or create a new dream that takes you out of your comfort zone.


What are your thoughts on this post? Feel free to share your dream in the comments. 

This is my entry for the A-Z Challenge I’m participating in. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a challenge where blogger’s post their way through the alphabet a letter each day through the month of April. For more details, visit the A-Z Challenge website or their WordPress site.

Blog Title Image (1)

 

If you’re interested in my upcoming book, click the photo for more information.

18 thoughts on “Depression & Dreams

  1. Wonderful post, Niki. I think it’s so important to keep dreaming, to me that is a display of our hope for the future. And life without hope is just too difficult to bear. I can see the change in you through those photos – it’s like watching you physically shed the restraints your depression had shackled you with. Looking forward to the book, my friend x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s something I’ve found fascinating though coaching, being able to see the physical difference in people. It’s something I’ve noticed mainly in the eyes of women I’ve worked with. I’m debating doing before after photos with clients I coach in person because you have to see it to believe it. I was surprised to see the change in myself looking at these photos. Thank you, Kim. I’m so excited and humbled to get it out 💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think the photos of your clients is a great idea. If only for their own records – for them to see the physical difference. As you found out yourself, it’s incredible how visible the change is.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah it’s something I thought of a few months ago but just let it sit on my list of ideas. Now that I’ve experienced it myself, I think it’s something others will be able to appreciate as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to hear that you’ve overcome your depression. Hold on to dreams which branch off to hope, faith and positive feeling. Great going Niki. Your pics over the years show a clear glow of happiness with time. Keep dreaming and keep smiling. Stay blessed dear 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is a great post, Niki. The growth really happens when we learn how to become comfortable with being uncomfortable. That is where the magic happens.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such an inspirational and beautiful post. Thank you so much for sharing. I’m so proud of you for making it this far. 🙂 Don’t chance a thing about yourself, stay awesome!

    Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

