Cultivating Joy

Something I was actually surprised about once I overcame my battle with depression was the feeling of joy. It wasn’t something I was familiar with or new how to identify. It made me feel uncomfortable and self-conscious. I didn’t know how to interpret it and thought it was surely the calm before the storm. Surely something awful was about to happen and I was too distracted to see it coming. 

After years of isolation, loneliness, and numbness, feeling joy had to be incredible right? Yet it took a lot of work on my behalf to embrace joy. You’d think it would be something I welcomed and was thankful for. Over time I had to learn to do so, to be grateful for it. To be thankful for this strange feeling called peace of mind. To be grateful for the steps I was taking to bring my life together. To embrace that the live I was living was cultivating joy.

So many times I think we chase after happiness, but it can be this fleeting moment that once attained slips through our fingers. I learned that deep-rooted joy wasn’t just a moment, a thing, a feeling, it was a state of being. It’s something that grew from the seeds I sowed with my actions, thoughts, and words. It’s something that blossomed in my life. Today I want to challenge you to think of the things that bring you great joy in your life and what you can do to cultivate deep-rooted joy. The kind of joy that doesn’t depend on the amount of money in your account, the kind of car you drive, or how many things you get done today. It’s the state of being you cultivate by being grateful for what is.


How do you cultivate joy in your life? Feel free to share in the comments!

This is my entry for the A-Z Challenge I’m participating in. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a challenge where blogger’s post their way through the alphabet a letter each day through the month of April. For more details, visit the A-Z Challenge website or their WordPress site.

17 thoughts on “Cultivating Joy

  1. Thank you so much for this post. It really hit home for me. I agree 100% that we have to make the choice eliminate negative beliefs and actions and start incorporating positive ones in order to cultivate joy in our lives. That is how we progress. Thanks again.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Truly, I find joy in helping others. Whether it is my own children, students, or someone at the grocery store, I am so much happier when I am able to do something for others. It makes me feel like I make a difference. I makes me believe that I have some sort of power over the chaos in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You express this well Niki. I like to think of all life as an opportunity to participate (or not). Joy can indeed be cultivated – and we need to understand we can water and nurture it with our attention, thoughts and actions. Wishing you all the best in keeping your feet on the joy trail.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this post because I can totally relate to it. For so many year’s, I longed for validation and that true happiness that I so desperately wanted. But one day the light switched flipped and realization set in. Today, I wake up everyday very thankful for life and grateful for the thing’s I possess. Realizing that I wanted a perfect happiness didn’t exist in the context that I wanted to. By switching my preconceived belief’s, I’m now able to live in happiness that’s real and not fake.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s such an incredible realization. I’m so glad you became aware of that. The part that stood out to me was the longing for validation. I know what that’s like. I eventually had to learn that even receiving validation didn’t bring happiness. I had to learn to love and accept myself. Once that happened, it was nice to receive validation but it wasn’t something I sought after anymore. May you continue to cultivate deep-rooted authentic happiness Frank ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

