Feeding Children

On Thursdays, I try to bring awareness to issues we can have an impact on improving. This week my heart went out to kids who depend on school meals to survive. I want to encourage you to contact a local organization that provides kids with packed lunches in your area. There are charities and businesses that come together to send kids home over the weekend with a bag of food so they can eat over the weekend. I encourage you to find a program in your area to donate time or funds to. Another way you can help is by calling a local school and contributing an amount towards a student’s past due lunch account. I’m sure a struggling parent with a large overdue lunch account would be grateful for the help. No one should have to go to bed hungry, thank you for caring.


What other ways can you think of to help? Has this inspired you to contribute to a need in your local area? Feel free to share in the comments ❤ 

10 thoughts on “Feeding Children

  1. As a public school teacher I can tell you that there are always hungry kids at school. You could also donate a box of something non-perishable, like granola bars. Thank you for bringing this sad reality to the attention of others.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a great idea! Thank you for sharing that. I’m sorry that’s something you are so exposed to and thank you for all that you do. Teachers are some of the kindest people in the world and have such an impact on children. I still have a special place in my heart for several of my teachers. Sending lots of love your way, Ali ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah no one should have to go hungry but a child that has no control over it is especially heartbreaking. I agree, it happens more than the population perceives. I like to raise awareness to issues that we have a possibility of making a difference in. This is something I think most of us can do something about even if on the smallest of scales. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, Niki. This is a bit of a pet project of mine! See, we ARE kindred spirits! We’ve moved numerous (many, many) times as a military family. Everywhere we’ve been I find an organization who addresses this issue in the community and volunteer in some way. Some of the organizations send the food home on Friday’s in a backpack so the kids who need a little extra help aren’t as obvious to the other kids. Kids can be so cruel to one another. It breaks my heart to think of a hungry child, but especially one who doesn’t take the food home because they don’t want to be made fun of. Thank you so much for bringing awareness to this issue!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I knew it not long after we connected! That’s one thing I love about blogging is that I’ve met more kindred spirits this way than in person over my entire life! I grew up an Air Force brat. That’s so incredibly kind of you. Oh my gosh, it’s heartbreaking to think a child would go hungry because they don’t want to be made fun of. I try to keep my eyes open for things we can contribute to that I can help bring awareness to even if in a small way. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

