Procrastination, Panic Monster & Life Calendar

I wanted to share a video today that I found both relatable and hilarious! As someone with a habit of procrastinating on things that I don’t look forward to or enjoy, this video made me feel exposed in a way that I was able to laugh at my nakedness! Thanks to this video, it got me thinking about the process I use when it comes to tackling an area that I have been procrastinating in for years. I decided to take a different approach because what works for most people just doesn’t work for me. It’s only been a couple of weeks, but this new approach is working out splendidly! I hope you get a good laugh but are also able to take away the points that you need to support you in tackling those areas of procrastination in your life…sometime soon 😉

He had me cracking up with the Panic Monster! It’s been quite some time since mine came out because deadlines are few and far between in my life. I don’t miss the panic that monster inflicted but boy was it effective! The other part that really got me thinking was the life calendar. 90 years seems like such a long time, but for some reason seeing a box representing each week of those 90 years didn’t seem like very many (especially considering I’m 1/3 of the way through them!). It reminded me of how precious life is, that every day is a gift and can’t be wasted or taken for granted.

Signature


What are your thoughts on this video? What part spoke loudest to you? What did you think of his life calendar? Did this give you a different perspective on procrastination? Feel free to share in the comments! 

15 thoughts on “Procrastination, Panic Monster & Life Calendar

  1. I featured this video in a post too. i like that he brings you face to face with what procrastination does to life but doesn’t patch it up with magic solutions. there is no one right answer. but the thought of measured time is not a subtle hint to get moving

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah it was a great talk and the life calendar really put things into perspective. Although, I struggle with procrastinating when it comes to housework so the life calendar just makes me think, eh why waste time cleaning? Haha no but it helped me reschedule the way I do things in a way that works for me not how people typically think it should be done.

      Like

  2. That is me…I don’t have deadlines. Tell me I can still jump in the kindness challenge. I have been having a rough year. Dad died and mom is not doing good. I’m not knowing how to deal with losing parents. I didn’t start last week b/c I didn’t know how to keep track and I’m trying to get my planner’s up and running and things are just out of control. Not to mention I’ve got trolls and I don’t know what to do about that. Sorry I didn’t start the challenge on time, I’ll understand if I can’t play catch up…Love ya, Mz. Niki and I’m half way home, OMG ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course you can still do The Kindness Challenge! You can either participate through your blog or in the sisterhood (or post your blog link in the sisterhood). Just start week 1 this week and you’ll be a week behind, no worries! There are others that have just started the challenge anyway.

      I’m sorry this year has gotten off to such a rough start. So sorry for your loss ❤

      I know you'll find a system that works for you to keep track of everything. As for the challenge itself, I've tried to make it simple to integrate. One focus for the week, one exercise, and one reflection at the end of the week ❤

      Trolls, what do you mean? You have trolls on your blog? I've been noticing a TON of trolls over the past week and have been marking tons of comments as spam. Not sure what's going on with that.

      I'm excited to see how week 1 of the challenge goes for you and look forward to reading your reflection. Love you too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I procrastinate when I’m mentally fatigued or distracted by pain. I try to push myself to tackle that big rewrite or editing project, but sometimes, I can’t. It’s frustrating when I’m unable to meet deadlines or goals I set for myself. That’s why, last week, I resolved to cut myself some slack. By nature, I’m an overachiever, not a procrastinator. Still, now that I’m unable to accomplish as much as I used to, I feel like I’m procrastinating–and I don’t have a lot of boxes left!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds like cutting yourself some slack was a great move! I love that you gave yourself permission to not overachieve. Maybe the thing you want to focus on is the quality of the boxes you have left. None of us know in reality how many we have but if you can at least check them off with a feeling of not only accomplishment but fulfillment and satisfaction from the things you did with the time you would have otherwise spent overachieving 😉 Thanks for sharing Linda ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So, after you threw down that challenge gauntlet I had to watch it (well didn’t I?).
        I found the presenter very articulate and nailed the spiel, clearly he made some interesting points in an amusing fashion.
        Did I learn anything new?
        Not really.
        has it changed my approach to things/
        Well I’ll have the phrases and images of the monkey and the panic monster stored away, but, well probably not.
        It did remind me of the “two types of workers: fireworks and snails” and all of the consideration these types have been given, but that was just my mind wandering.
        I enjoyed far more the content of your post linked to the video.
        Sorry, you did push that button after all.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. haha thank you for your honesty and your feedback. I can’t say I learned anything new but I found his approach amusing and entertaining. I think for me it was one of those things that I heard the right thing at the right time. I had been wrestling with procrastination in an area of my personal life for some time and it put things into perspective. I like to look for the lesson in things and reflect and this found its way into my life in the perfect moment. I’m glad you found him amusing at least and hopefully his monkey and monster scenario will be something you can draw on at the right time 🙂

        Like

  4. This is me. I had been planning to start a blog for 2 years now and I’ve only just done it a week ago! Fruatratoon and guilt really start to take over somewhere in the process of procrastinating something without a deadline. The life calendar really has an impact, and Tim himself is hilarious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well congratulations on starting it! What perfect timing, had you not started, you wouldn’t have found The Kindness Challenge! So glad to have connected with you. Don’t worry, there’s no time like the present. Don’t beat yourself up about what you didn’t do and enjoy that you’re doing it now ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved this video. I used to follow the patterns of the first graphs he showed, but then I started a job that just has so many deadlines all the time that it wasn’t procrastination, but time to do them all that forced me into the second category. Still don’t like have to work on things last minute, although I know that the panic monster always gets it done. But when it comes to creating my own deadlines, I have to have clear goals and a timeline with someone holding me accountable to get it done. Not that the understanding of this was new, but it made look in the mirror and say: Oh no, I am procrastinating right now. Time to define my goals and set strict deadlines that I am accountable for.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, while he didn’t present anything I didn’t already know to be true, the way he presented it was funny and gave me a different perspective. Plus I love being able to call out my monkey and monster 😉

      Like

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

