What are you watching on Netflix?

Soulful Sunday (1).png

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Netflix post, so today I’d like to know what everyone is watching? What show can’t you get enough of? What have you watched recently? What are your Netflix must watch shows?

I’ll share my current top 5:

  • Chef’s Table | I love cooking shows in general but I’m especially enamored with this show. The chefs get really personal and open up about what cooking and food means to them. It’s touching and inspiring to see them in this way. There are also lots of new places on my list of places to eat! I also like seeing the connections across Netflix. For example, the chef featured in the first episode of this show has a cameo on Master of None as himself.
  • The Get Down|  The second and final part was released not long ago. This takes you on a journey through time to visit the music scene of the 70’s through the eyes of a high school kid growing up in the Bronx. I really enjoyed this show and ended up watching a show that popped up under “more like this” called Hip-Hop Evolution. There’s some great music history covered in this documentary style show full of interviews with some of the biggest as well as lesser recognized artists who paved the way for Hip-Hop.
  • Designated Survivor| It’s back for season 2! Honestly, if you aren’t already watching, I’d recommend waiting until all of the episodes are available to start it. The beauty of Netflix is no commercials and watching episodes as you please so having to wait each week for a new episode is annoying. On the bright side, if you haven’t seen it, you can watch season 1 while you wait for the rest of season 2 to come out. This has politics, drama, and suspense all in one place.
  • Master of None | I’d been waiting for this one to come out for a while! I enjoyed it even though it didn’t last long because it’s only 10 half hour episodes. Some of the characters are quirky which I love! I especially loved the travel and food incorporated into this season. If you haven’t seen season one, it’s a show about an actor in New York who acts in commercials. There’s a lot of diversity in the cast and I enjoy the hints of other storylines in addition to the main character’s.
  • Feed the Beast| I was on the fence as to whether or not to start it but I did enjoy it. It’s about two friends that decide to open a restaurant together after one of them is released from prison. There are quite a few hurdles to overcome to open a fancy restaurant in the Bronx and has enough drama to keep you interested in this 10 episode season.

    Have you seen any of these? What do you think of them? Share your top Netflix suggestions in the comments! 

32 thoughts on “What are you watching on Netflix?

      1. Right?! I haven’t seen it but I’ve heard them watching it and I just can’t with that show. They crack up and I don’t think she’s put much thought into how an uncle can be your grandpa…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah I think I was about 8 before I realized that my grandma was actually my mom’s mom. It’s not that I didn’t know but I never thought of my mom having been a child, having parents, or being anything other than my mom before that age.

        Like

    1. You’re kidding! It’s a streaming service. I’ve had it for years, instead of paying for cable, I have basic tv service and watch all of my shows and movies using Netflix. Things are released later but since that’s all I have, I don’t notice it. It’s less than $12 a month and my kids can watch their shows and my husband and I each have our own profiles so we get recommendations based on what interests us.

      Like

    1. 13 Reasons Why was a good watch. I did a post about it a little while back. I think that’s something all high school students should watch. Great conversation topics and important to know how we impact others. I haven’t watched Santa Clarita Diet. I love Drew Berrymore but I’m not into the zombie shows… 🙂

      Like

  1. Just finished Season 9 of “The Big Bang Theory”–lots of laughs! 🙂 “The Crown” is excellent. I like sci-fi: “Falling Skies” was pretty good, especially the first 3 seasons. “BrainDead” is hilarious political satire, with an amusing love story. Was disappointed the show lasted only 1 season. Am on Season 2 of “The Good Witch,” a very sweet series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love The Big Bang Theory!! So funny! Hmm, I’ll have to check out The Crown, haven’t seen that yet. Ugh I hate it when shows are cancelled. Sounds like a good one but if it’s only 1 season I know I won’t bother. Thanks for sharing your suggestions! Added some new things to my list 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi,
    I watch Chef’s Table, The Great British baking show…over and over again because I am a baker and yes a chef…I am amazed at the kindness from these people towards each other. So unlike our American competitions. Jim Gaffigan, anything of his that I can find. He is so very funny and makes you look at the things that compose our life. Tokyo Stories is about a diner in Tokyo that opens at midnight and closes at 7am…life happenings for I guess people who live in the “3rd shift”. Mind of a chef…so good…history and all…and as many documentaries that I can find…such as “The making of Sake”…fascinating. Lots of good things…and then movies that make you laugh..Like finding Dory..Pets…all things that make me laugh. When I first started watching Netflix it was all these serious crime dramas and movies of that sort. Now I watch things that lighten my day and give me some ease. I work 6 days a week, love my job..it is enabling me to fulfill many goals. So I use Netflix as self care..breather time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t seen cooking shows that aren’t American but I don’t know that they would do well in the US if they didn’t have that element. I much prefer the cooking shows I watch on Netflix because I don’t like all of the nastiness and drama. Hmmm you’ve pointed out some interesting ones I haven’t heard of that I’ll have to add to my list. I love Jim Gaffigan!! He’s so funny! I hear ya! Netflix is my way to disconnect as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never seen any of your top 5 shows! Designated Survivor sounds good, I love politics! At the moment I an loving Pretty Little Liars, The Vampire Diaries and I am going to start watching Gilmore Girls and Girl boss 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh they’re good! I watch all kinds of things but those are the most recent ones I’ve finished watching so they’re fresh on my mind. I used to watch Pretty Little Liars but lost interest a couple of seasons back, same goes for The Vampire Diaries. I’ve never seen Gilmore Girls and have been contemplating Girl Boss. Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sci-fi is probably one of my least favorite genres. I have been pleasantly surprised by a series every now and then but it’s not my first choice. Netflix is giving it a 93% match for my interests so I might have to check it out… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My boyfriend loves The Get Down. I’ve watched bits and pieces of a few episodes with him and it seems like a good story line. I’ll have to get into it and start from the beginning. Never seen or heard any of the others! I think there is a show called Stranger Things, or something like that lol anyways, I think I’m going to check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m convinced to check out for sure now. I’ve heard many great reviews on the show, and I actually do enjoy a good sci fi movie or show so I’m sure I’ll enjoy it too

        Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

