4 Self-Care Tips for Difficult Mental Health Days

This post was written by Ali over at The Nut Factory. Thank you, Ali, for sharing your experience with us.

pexels-photo-273171.jpg

Dealing with mental illness can be tough. You have your good days where you’re happy, confident, and full of life and your bad days where you just want to hide under the blankets and make the world disappear. On the bad days sometimes you’ve just got to do what you’ve got to do to get through the day. Remember that tomorrow is another day and as hard as it feels at times, know that you will get through this. Here are four tips for those not so good days.

Do the Little Things

Brush your teeth, eat something, put on clean clothes. When depression hits even the smallest things can become difficult to do but if that’s all you can manage for the day that’s ok. You’re doing a good job.

Housework

I hear you – boring! But bear with me. Many times lots of clutter around the house can increase our anxiety. Messy house, messy mind. Simply cleaning up a bit and putting a few things away can help us feel better. It gets us moving and gives us a sense of achievement and pride when we complete tasks. It doesn’t have to be anything big, no need for a huge spring clean. Baby steps. Perhaps start by washing the dishes and wiping down the kitchen benches. By breaking it down into small achievable tasks you don’t feel so overwhelmed. Try playing some of your favorite music while you work.

Animals

Research has shown that petting an animal can lower a person’s blood pressure and heart rate. If you are dealing with anxiety this can be very helpful. Animals are great companions and give unconditional love. They are great at keeping secrets so tell them what’s on your mind. Sometimes just saying something out loud can really help. Taking the dog for a walk will get in that exercise. Petting a cat while binge watching Netflix can help you relax.

Medication

This one is really important. If you have been prescribed medication for your mental illness you need to take it as prescribed. There will be days when you feel like it’s not doing anything, especially if you have just started taking it, but it’s important that you keep it up. Sudden stoppage of psychiatric medications can cause horrible side effects. Also, don’t decide to increase the dose on your own. Obviously, there can be unpleasant side effects with this as well. If you feel that your medication is not working PLEASE speak to your doctor about it.

All of the above self-care techniques have worked for me at different times. I have a cat who always seems to know when I’m having a low moment and hops up on my lap for a cuddle. It’s extremely comforting to have another being close to you. I used to have a dog but had to give her up when my first child was born. She used to get me out of the house taking her on walks so that’s like a double bonus if you have a dog, the comfort of an animal and exercise. One of my other big gotos is my iPad. Often times, playing a game for half an hour is all it takes to get my mind off unpleasant thoughts. You really have to work out what works best for you.


What was your favorite tip? What do you find especially useful when you’re having a tough mental health day? Feel free to share in the comments!

18596468_10154609068971344_2069760265_o.png

Ali is a new blogger that I’m excited to introduce to our blogging community! Click on the image to stop by to say hi and see what else she has to offer. I suggest starting with her “My Stories” section. If you’ve ever struggled with depression, you’ll be able to relate to what she shares. If you know someone who has, you’ll be able to get a glimpse into what it’s like. Let her know you’re stopping by from this neighborhood so she knows how you found her. ❤

Thanks again, Ali for sharing your top four tips to get through the day when you’re having a particularly difficult mental health day.


Please keep in mind, this post is written based on Ali’s personal experience. You should always consult with your doctor or mental health professional before engaging in any changes to your mental health regimen. 
4 thoughts on “4 Self-Care Tips for Difficult Mental Health Days

  1. I derive pleasure from all the critters I love–my dog, in particular. He’ll be 15 this year. He won’t be with us much longer, and I’m grateful for every day my husband and I have with him.

    My outdoor birds! I delight in feeding and caring for my avian friends. Our broad-tailed hummers have arrived, and I aided them through the worst of the cold and snow that befell Colorado this week. (I have a heated nectar feeder). I talk to my birds. Often, they come when they hear my voice. It’s hard to be sad when a chickadee is talking back to you or a hummingbird whirs in for a visit.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, I'll reply ;)

